SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Javascript Anthology - table sorting doesn't work in opera

    Hey gang,

    I was just wondering if anyone knows why the sort_tables_by_columns.js code from the Javascript Anthology does not work in Opera (tested v 9.10). It seems to work fine in every other browser i throw it at.

    I would post code excerpts, but i don't want to step on the authors' toes. What i can say is that the problem seems to be related to adding the anchor tag to column headers. I've checked the opera standards compliance table (http://www.opera.com/docs/specs/opera9/) and it appears to support all of the functions in the sort_tables_by_columns.js code.

    Thanks
    -john

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict ALL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    215
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    anyway we can see what you have in action?
    Did I help you?
    You can repay me, support one of my projects (no money needed):
    JavaScript Wiki, Another Web Forum, Paranormal Site

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Absolutely. Any insight you can offer is much appreciated.

    http://flyffline.johnmoriconi.com/?browse=weapons

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    3,537
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would post code excerpts, but i don't want to step on the authors' toes.
    It's a sitepoint book, and this is a sitepoint forum, so I don't think there should be any problem posting code samples. Also, if there are errors in the book, it's likely the author would want to know about them.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict Mirek Komárek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Prague
    Posts
    210
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    var version = parseFloat(agent.recplace(/.*opera[\/ ]([^ $]+).*/, "$1"));

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ahhhh, so simple, boy am i a fool! lol, thanks Mirek! i can't believe i missed that. I probably would have found it, but i tried the same code downloaded from the book's code archive and it bombed out, too. It still does- i tried it again just to be certain. Must have something to do with the fact that opera was opening that file from the local filesystem rather than http.

    Thanks again!

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict Mirek Komárek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Prague
    Posts
    210
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is a javascript console in Opera, in latest version it is called error console under Tools -> Advanced -> Error console


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •