SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Visit docquesting.com docquesting's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Georgia USA
    Posts
    1,264
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Turning a psd into a vector

    I have a psd that I need to have vectorized. Am I able to turn each layer into a vector as is or do I need to merge them into a jpeg or other. I would like to be able to have the whole psd a vector if possible. I need to know how in P-S Cs2.

    On a side note I was told before that with illustrator you can resize an image without loss of quality. Confirmation and other details of this would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay here's what I do to vectorize layers in Photoshop. I'm assuming your layers are intact.

    Shapes that you've drawn, circles, ovals, etc. are already in vector format.

    Text however is not. Do make text vector go to

    Layer > Type > Convert To Shape.

    It does what it says. You wont be able to edit the text however.

    And that's pretty much it. Your situation may be abit more complicated.

    Skinny

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard trampt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Newport, RI
    Posts
    1,997
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You can't really go from a Raster graphic to a Vector graphic. Illustrator and Flash both have a built in tracing feature, and depending on how complicated your PSD it can usually serve its purpose.

    Vector graphics are just points with mathematical formulas that draw the lines and colors. So they will size to any size because the measurement isn't done by the pixel. Usually if I need something vector from a PSD I just open it in Illustrator and trace it.

  4. #4
    Visit docquesting.com docquesting's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Georgia USA
    Posts
    1,264
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When you mention trace it could you explain what you mean and how this is done. I would guess this should be done after turning the psd into a jpeg?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard trampt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Newport, RI
    Posts
    1,997
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well it depends on what the PSD is. Generally if I want to vectorize something its generally not that complicated so I just open it in Illustrator, make a new layer and just use the pen tool to trace over it in the new layer.

  6. #6
    Manly Man Cheese bronze trophy Uncle Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    in your GFs pants
    Posts
    372
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by docquesting View Post
    On a side note I was told before that with illustrator you can resize an image without loss of quality. Confirmation and other details of this would be appreciated.
    If the design was created within Illustrator (or any other vector based design software), it can be scaled up and down without any quality loss. This is because the elements aren't pixel-based like regular images are. Rather they are based on mathematical equations and formulas, so a straight line joining point A to point B will always be perfectly straight, no matter how close or far you view it from.

    Raster based images (photos, etc..) won't have this advantage even if you import them into Illustrator. They'll have to be recreated as mentioned above.

  7. #7
    Visit docquesting.com docquesting's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Georgia USA
    Posts
    1,264
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm I understand what your saying U/B. However I still do not understand what it means to "trace". It is a terminology I am not familiar with yet. Some detailed explanation of which tool to use and how it is used is needed in order for me to comprehend.

  8. #8
    Manly Man Cheese bronze trophy Uncle Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    in your GFs pants
    Posts
    372
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well it means exactly that, "trace" . You open a new canvas in Illustrator, or load the image, put a new layer on top, and then using the Pen tool, you click around the edges of your design (assuming its simple shapes and stuff).

    Likewise, you can use the autotrace tool if you have the CS version.

  9. #9
    Visit docquesting.com docquesting's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Georgia USA
    Posts
    1,264
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ah yes as you would when you slice an image in CS. I do not know about the auto trace feature. If you would care to expound on that it would be really kind of you.

  10. #10
    Manly Man Cheese bronze trophy Uncle Bob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    in your GFs pants
    Posts
    372
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh I don't know much about it either lol, Illustrator10 lacks that feature. Heard it was extremely easy to use though.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •