SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm a newbie and I'm about to build my first site. It's going to be business-related. I've been reading a lot on this forum and I've seen where many people are singing the praises of Dreamweaver as a web authoring tool.

My question: Is Dreamweaver too sophisticated for me? I'll be learning by trial and error, plus I may pick up a book on Dreamweaver. I only ask because it seems as though even though many people give a "thumbs up" to Dreamweaver, most of these people started out with some other tool, usually a less sophisticated (i.e., "easier to work with") one.

Do I spend $250 on Dreamweaver, or do I go for a simpler and less expensive tool?

Remember, I'm a first-timer (but I do want my site to look professional, not cheesy).

Thank you in advance for any comments.

-Kevin

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Kevin,

Odds are only you know enough about yourself to know for sure...but I'd give 1stPage 2000 a try. It's available free for download at http://www.evrsoft.com - although you'll basically need to know HTML to use it...and if you don't, you need to before getting involved in this line of work anyway...

Dreamweaver is well spoken for among people I know...so if you learn HTML and then decide that 1stPage isn't the way to go, Dreamweaver may well be the right editor for you...although at $250 it might only be worth it if you plan to make some money with your skills eventually.

------------------
    Chris Bowyer
    MyCoding.com: Join our mailing list for launch notification!
    "I'm not an insomniac, I'm a web designer."

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)