SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru htown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    676
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    PHP Programming without knowing PHP

    I have a client that is wanting two parts of his site to be dynamic along with a user interface so that he can keep this information updated. I am not a PHP programmer but what he is asking for is fairly simple and I thought I might give it a go IF there are some PHP developments tools out there that can help me build it.
    1. He needs to display and image of a home with some basic information about the home right next to it. Very much like a Real Estate listings page but not quite as much detail.
    2. The other thing he needs is a bit more complex. There are groups of five investors that will need to log into the site and be able to see such things as:
      1. Address of the property purchased by that group
      2. price of that property
      3. mortgage payment for that property
      4. Actual mortgage payment for that property
      5. a column to indicate which of these properties belongs to the current login user. (An asterisk perhaps)
    I realize this is really a broad question, but as I write this I am doubting that there is really anything out there that I am looking for. But lets see what the group has to say.

    Thanks,
    Houston
    Houston Brown
    Split Light Designs
    Bringing your ideas to light.

  2. #2
    . shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    9,013
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would outsource That section of the site development to someone who is does know about server side stuff. Remember not all outsourcing is bad.
    Logic without the fatal effects.
    All code snippets are licensed under WTFPL.


  3. #3
    SitePoint Evangelist
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Chicago, USA
    Posts
    417
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Outsource to me (half joking of course)!

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict Procode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    371
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You won't be able to do number 2 without some good knowledge of PHP and MySQL. And i don't quiet get what you want for number 1.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru htown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    676
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    So I guess it is off to the looking to hire section.

    I figured as much.
    Houston Brown
    Split Light Designs
    Bringing your ideas to light.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict Procode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    371
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It shouldn't cost to much tho. It is fairly simple.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophy kyberfabrikken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    6,157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If #2 is a matter of access or not, you don't need PHP - the webserver can be configured for that. You simply create five users, and grant them access to the pages in question, and then deny for anybody else.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru htown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    676
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    This information needs to be administered on a regular basis by the client. Plus there will be a lot more users than just five. There is only five in any one group. There could be an unlimited number of groups.
    Houston Brown
    Split Light Designs
    Bringing your ideas to light.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict Procode's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    371
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by htown View Post
    This information needs to be administered on a regular basis by the client. Plus there will be a lot more users than just five. There is only five in any one group. There could be an unlimited number of groups.
    Ok maybe a little more complicated. But still without any PHP knowledge you won't be able to do it.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •