Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

SitePoint Addict michaelwheaton's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Changing Text on Hover

Hey, everyone. I'm working on a new site, and I've got a quick javascript question that I hope ya can help me out with. I would like it so that when they hover over a graphic, the text in another area changes. I've tried a couple things, but I'm still learning. I would really appreciate it if someone could help me out.

Thanks!
    Michael

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ....onMouseover="changeVis('div1', true)" onMouseout="changeVis('div1', false)"....

function changeVis(divID, isShow)
    {
    var divStyle = (document.layers) ? document.layers[divID] : document.all ? document.all[divID].style : document.getElementById(divID).style

divStyle.visibility = (isShow) ? 'visible' : 'hidden'
    }

<div id='div1' .....>
    the text you want to appear
    </div>

see the 'dHTML: an Introduction' script/tutorial at my site (GrassBlade)

Vinny
    Where the World Once Stood
    the blades of grass
    cut me still

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thanks, Vincent, that's just what I wanted!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just realized that I left an important detail out. What I have is a small menu of 4 different graphics, and I have a place for text. I would like it so that when they hover over a graphic, some text comes up to tell them about it. I've seen this done a lot, but using graphics instead of text. I'm sorry I left this out- could you help me out with this?

Thanks,
    Michael

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nobody knows how to do this? I've seen lots of sites where they have it that you can hover over some icons and then somewhere else on the page a description comes up. This is sort of the same idea. How do I get an area of text to change when a graphic is hovered over?

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned