SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    HI silver trophy Silverado4x4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    953
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    RackShack - AMD vs. RAQ

    Which is better? I'm about to buy one through RackShack, but I'm not sure which to get. RAQ's are sold out, but I can get one through someone. But, AMD's look more powerful.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    313
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I personally am never going to use an RaQ again. Whilst they have a nice control panel and such, my god does CGI and PHP run slow on them. I suggest getting an AMD if you currently, or plan on using PHP or CGI (Perl) scripts. And in general, a 'proper' server (AMD or Intel) will give better performance than a RAQ.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict LiveTronix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    370
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If your run a dynamic or database driven site Raq's are not the way to go. If you sell hosting (quite a few clients) generally Raq's are probably not the way to go. If you want to get started with some simple and easy to learn a Raq may be for you. If you want something harder to learn but more powerful go with Linux/Unix.

  4. #4
    Misfit
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    2,266
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I recommend going with the AMD over the RaQ, unless you really have absolutely no clue how to admin a server (in which case I'd recommend you learn first). The AMD setup is much better then the RaQ -- faster, more stable, better features, etc..

  5. #5
    midnight coder
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    The flat edge of the world
    Posts
    838
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just went to their site, and I can't believe what I'm seeing.

    They have a K6-2 450MHz, 128MB RAM RAQ for $99 per month, then they have a Duron 1GHz, 512MB RAM for $99 per month.

    What would anyone wanna get a RAQ with a price plan like this?

  6. #6
    Misfit
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    2,266
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Because RaQs are very, very easy to administrate. You can get by without knowing much about linux at all (though it's still good to know some), as their control panel takes care of the necessary tasks. But other then that, there really isn't any reason.

  7. #7
    Wanna-be Apple nut silver trophy M. Johansson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Halmstad, Sweden
    Posts
    7,400
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Aye, the only real reason to get a Raq is because they are dead simple to administrate - otherwise, a standard server seems more attractive.
    Mattias Johansson
    Short, Swedish, Web Developer

    Buttons and Dog Tags with your custom design:
    FatStatement.com


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •