SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    positioning elements in NAV4.7

    Hi - wonder if any one can help me with this. I am building a site and I'm trying use as much css as possible (to learn it). I have everything working OK in IE5+6 and Net6 but the positioning of the menu and logo on the left get messed up in net4.7. It still puts them on the left side but spreads them out down the page way too much. I have thought of making an alternate net4.7 freindly site but if there's anything I can do to fix up the existing css that would be better.

    Thanks for any help.

    Jonathan


    the site is here
    http://www.jafdesign.com/spaga/index2.php

    the three elements on the left margin are controlled by css using classes and <span> as follows:

    css:
    ___________________________

    .marginlogo
    {
    position: absolute; left: 15px; top: 15px;
    }

    .marginmenu
    {
    position: absolute; left: 15px; top: 23%;
    }

    .menutext
    {
    position: absolute; left: 30px; top: 30%;
    }

    .menutextfont
    {
    font-family: Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
    font-size: 10px;
    }

    .marginred
    {
    position: absolute; left: 15px; top: 70%;
    }

    _________________________

    html for margin:



    <!-- //*BEGINING OF html for left logo, menu and red dot image - left margin -->
    <span class="marginlogo"><img src="images/buttons/spaga_black.gif" width="124" height="43"></span>
    <span class="marginmenu"><img src="images/backgrounds/menubkg.jpg" width="124" height="196"></span>
    <span class="marginred"><img src="images/buttons/spaga_red_transp.gif" width="123" height="119"></span>
    <span class="menutext">
    <p class="menutextfont">
    <a href="index2.php">&gt; HOME</a><br>
    <a href="about.php">&gt; about SPAGA</a><br>
    <a href="address.php">&gt; addresses</a><br>
    <a href="artists.php">&gt; artists</a><br>
    <a href="contact.php">&gt; contact </a><br>
    <a href="exhibitions.php">&gt; exhibitions</a><br>
    <a href="members.php">&gt; members</a> <br>
    <a href="guidelines.php">&gt; guidelines</a><br>
    <a href="links.php">&gt; links</a>
    </p>
    </span>

    <!-- //*END OF html for left logo, menu and red dot image - left margin -->

    _______________________

    thank for any help.

  2. #2
    Anyone seen my cypher? OneChance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's because NS 4.x has limited support for CSS positioning. It has problems with position: and percentage units.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    51
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thats what I figured - just hoped there would be a way around it.

    I have a NAV4.7 version of the site up now that is basically a very stripped down tables version of my css site with a browser detect that send NAV4.7 visiters to the NAV version.

    http://www.jafdesign.com/spaga/

    Jonathan

  4. #4
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    do a browser sensing script and make a tables version for NN4.7. That's what I'd do.

    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,858
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'd make an upgrade page and tell them to get the latest version of their favorite browser. It's about standards, baby!
    Last edited by mattjacob; Dec 30, 2001 at 01:42.

  6. #6
    Back in Action Winged Spider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    outside my mind
    Posts
    900
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Or you could use the hide trick.

    .upgrade{
    display: none;}

    And create a paragraph with that link you posted.
    <p class="upgrade">

    It will only display on browsers that are not CSS compiant.


  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,858
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's the same information from the link that I posted...


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •