SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru tombempty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    688
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Angry cannot get my SSI to work...please help!

    Hello All:

    I am trying to make my life easy by using SSI on my site but I cannot get them to work.

    I know that they are turned on in my .htaccess file so there is nothing more there I can do.

    I inserted <!--#include virtual="includes/global-footer.shtml" --> and used the shtml extention cause I tested it on my server and that one works for some reason not html but I still see nothing.

    additionally, it works when you type in the address to it directly

    http://72.52.184.27/~gzwscom/include...l-footer.shtml

    Can somone help me figure what else I am doing wrong?
    ********
    Regards,

    P

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy DaveWoods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire - UK
    Posts
    2,651
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The site http://72.52.184.27/~gzwscom isn't available for me so can't see what you're doing wrong.

    I'm guessing that it's a simple problem with your path but without seeing the page itself I'd only be guessing.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru tombempty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    688
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    hrmmmm

    Quote Originally Posted by csswiz
    The site http://72.52.184.27/~gzwscom isn't available for me so can't see what you're doing wrong.

    I'm guessing that it's a simple problem with your path but without seeing the page itself I'd only be guessing.
    I am using an IP cause I have not set my DNS yet to resolve to the real location.

    I have set it up at this site alternatively for now

    http://www.gzws.com/testindex.html
    Last edited by tombempty; Nov 24, 2006 at 10:11. Reason: Changed location of link
    ********
    Regards,

    P

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy DaveWoods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Derbyshire - UK
    Posts
    2,651
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There's obviously something strange going on then, I can access the file you're trying to include but not the page you're including from.... can you provide the full path to the page you're trying to include (including the filename itself).

    It could be something like, having a base meta tag in your html or possibly the "~" character as it probably needs to be encoded.

    Slightly off topic but why are you using that character anyway?

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru tombempty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    688
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don;t know why I am using that ~ sign. that is the one assigned by my server when I created the site.

    you can access the page I am trying to include here,

    http://www.gzws.com/includes/global-footer.shtml

    and the page where the include goes is here http://www.gzws.com/testindex.html

    should I have a base tag in there to point to the IP?
    ********
    Regards,

    P

  6. #6
    SitePoint Guru tombempty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    688
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Question Any other Ideas or suggetions

    Does anyone else have any ideas why this is not working? I need to get this site going this weekend.

    thanks for anyhelp anyone can give.
    ********
    Regards,

    P

  7. #7
    Texan at Heart Corey Bryant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Castle Rock, CO
    Posts
    2,491
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Usually when you use the code
    Code:
    <!--#include virtual="includes/global-footer.shtml" -->
    I think you need to use virtual paths as well.

    Also try using
    Code:
    <!--#include virtual="/includes/global-footer.html" -->
    and include it in a testindex.shtml not textindex.html. You need the server to parse the SHTML.

    If that does not work International Web Developer's Network might be able to offer you some advice.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Guru tombempty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    688
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Whoo Hooo

    I knew it was something stupid.......I just had it backwards this whole time.

    man, how embarrassing.

    Thanks so much for your help,


    Paul
    ********
    Regards,

    P

  9. #9
    Texan at Heart Corey Bryant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Castle Rock, CO
    Posts
    2,491
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No worries - good luck with the website! It is those easy ones that usually tend to cause us more problems


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •