SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist Timothy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    414
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm working on a web page for a design contest. We are creating a layout for the site. The page looks fine in Internet Exploroer, but the tables are really messed up in Netscape. Look at http://dev.thinkquest.org/C002006/layout3.htm and you'll see what I mean. Please help us! We've tried many things and even some javascript that was supposed to fix it. Just reply to this message or e-mail me if you can help. The site is non-profit and for educational use, so we can't have any advertising, but do need help.

    Thanks,
    Timothy

    [This message has been edited by Timothy (edited June 12, 2000).]

  2. #2
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Make sure all of your table cells have something in them. If you want the cell to be empty then put in a non-breaking space (& nbsp; - without the space).

    Hopefully this should fix your problem. If not let us know.

    ------------------
    Wayne Luke - Sitepoint Moderator/Internet Media Developer
    Digital Magician Studios - Making Magic with Web Applications
    wluke@digitalmagician.com

  3. #3
    ********* Addict DLG_1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    597
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    wluke,


    i'm having the same problems with my tables within Netscape...and i have the space symbols in them...check it out please.
    www.shivanigems.com


  4. #4
    Just Blow It bronze trophy
    DaveMaxwell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Posts
    7,294
    Mentioned
    123 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    I'm not Wayne, but I did notice that you do have one cell with nothing but a div tag in it. That is probably the cell that's causing you the problem (I saw it on the main page and the products page).
    The div tag doesn't actually take any space up. It is just a formatting tag. You still need at least a & nbsp; there.

    You don't need to use div AND tables. You should try to use one or the other.....

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Port Jervis, NY, US
    Posts
    163
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm having the same problem, and all of my cells are filled. The URL is at http://www.jtknives.com

    Thanks ahead of time! This one really has me stumped...

  6. #6
    SitePoint Evangelist Timothy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    414
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I got it... Here's the fix...

    I changed the body tag to read:
    <body topmargin="0" rightmargin="0" leftmargin="0" marginheight="0"
    marginwidth="0">

    I added the marginheight="0" and marginwidth="0" because these tags
    "fix" the code for Netscape and force a page to start right at the
    top of the browser window. The topmargin="0" etc. are the "fix" for
    Internet Explorer.

  7. #7
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well margins are something totally different than messed up tables. Your tables will get out of alignment if you have empty tags, unclosed cells, overlapping tags or unclosed tables.

    All documents have margins and unless you set them to zero you will always get a little white space surrounding your page.

    ------------------
    Wayne Luke - Sitepoint Moderator/Internet Media Developer
    Digital Magician Studios - Making Magic with Web Applications
    wluke@digitalmagician.com

  8. #8
    SitePoint Evangelist Timothy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    Houston TX
    Posts
    414
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Wluke,

    I don't mean to sound rude or anything, but adding these margins tags worked for me. I didn't change anything besides them and it was fixed... Maybe it was just luck or something...

    Timothy



    [This message has been edited by Timothy (edited June 12, 2000).]

  9. #9
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The problem with the JTKnives site is not inherently table related but instead related to your layers. You have the right hand layer define before the left hand layer but have no absolute positioning in your code. Netscape handles layers poorly. I would move the layers in position in the document so that the appear in the order they would be drawn. Namely left to right, top to bottom.

    ------------------
    Wayne Luke - Sitepoint Moderator/Internet Media Developer
    Digital Magician Studios - Making Magic with Web Applications
    wluke@digitalmagician.com

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Dec 1999
    Location
    Port Jervis, NY, US
    Posts
    163
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would like to thank both Wayne and Timothy for their insights. I have no question that both their points are valid, which only confirms my desire to sharpen my HTML skills! (Remember when it all seemed so easy? )

    But what solved the problem for me in Netscape 4.X was the removal of the horizontal rule, or <HR> tag, in the right table. It was pushing the table past its boundaries, and I honestly don't know why. Now I can live without the HR tag in this instance, but I would really be curious now how to rein it in, or why it wasn't reined in automatically, even in Netscape.

    I'll post both URLs so you can see the difference.

    Former version: http://www.jtknives.com/index3.html

    Fixed version: http://www.jtknives.com

    I really appreciate your response and your help. I can't recall HTML driving me up the wall this much with something I couldn't make head nor tail of.

  11. #11
    ********* Addict DLG_1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    597
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I did take out the <div> tags and added the &nbsp 's but it still isn't working! I couldn't upload the changes since I'm at work, but i downloaded the html and tried...i tried!!!! DOESN'T WORK!

    i guess i'm just frustrated with netscape's extreme inferiority.


    - sam
    (timothy, I even tried what you recommended)

  12. #12
    ********* Addict DLG_1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    597
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I was playing around with it, and if I take out the <td> containing the <img> then it looks good. what gives?

  13. #13
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    DLG : I looked at your site in Netscape 4.7 and couldn't find any catastrophic errors. The site looked the same as it did in IE for the most part.

    ------------------
    Wayne Luke - Sitepoint Moderator/Internet Media Developer
    Digital Magician Studios - Making Magic with Web Applications
    wluke@digitalmagician.com

  14. #14
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    jfiliss: I think your problem has to do with the fact that your tables are overlaying each other. Try experimenting with the WIDTH attribute on your <HR> tag. It will except the same values as your table does so you can use a percentage or a strict value. I would go with a strict value a little shorter than the right hand table and see what happens.


    ------------------
    Wayne Luke - Sitepoint Moderator/Internet Media Developer
    Digital Magician Studios - Making Magic with Web Applications
    wluke@digitalmagician.com


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •