SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Designers: What do you want your prospects to know?

Hello,

Being a web developer as a freelancer and consultant, I know that it's much easier to deal with clients who have experience with purchasing professional services. I know the particulars of this type of exchange, i.e. it's much easier to work with clients who have hired programmers in the past, it helps if the client has some technical or industry knowledge, etc.

I may consider hiring a designer for a project sometime in the next six months. I know nothing about the particulars of this kind of exchange. So, designers: What do you want your clients to know before they come to you with a job? What kinds of questions do you want them to ask? What kinds of difficulties do you often run across that you wish clients knew how to avoid?

I'm looking forward to learning more about what you guys do. Let me know!

Thanks,
    Jeff

Note: I forgot to mention that I will be the client in this exchange; the the end product will be for my own use.
    Last edited by pdxi; Nov 21, 2006 at 09:47. Reason: Added some information
    Jeffrey Hunt, freelance PHP & MySQL developer
    Resume: http://www.jeffreyhunt.org/resume/

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tyssen's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I imagine some of it would be what you already ask your own clients:

Why do you want a website?
    What does your company do?
    Who's your competition?
    What do you want the website to do?

Other questions a designer might ask:

Do you have a logo already? Will you require one? Will you need printed material featuring this logo as well?
    What sort of style/theme/feel are you going for?
    What message do you want to convey?
    What are examples of some sites you like (also competitor's sites)?