SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How did you start programming?

I am a newbie (so were you once :-) but I am very curious in learning programming?

-What made you start programming?
    -How/Where did you learn programming?
    -How long did it take you to learn a language such as PHP? (If I were to put 2 hours per day, how long can I expect to create something useful)
    -How difficult is programming?
    -What skills are required in programming?

SitePoint Guru themightystephen's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I originally had no desire to become a programmer. My dad had set up his website which I helped to run. I used the good old microsoft frontpage WYSIWIG at the start. After a while I got interested in how it all worked. I first learnt HTML, then moved onto CSS, and then PHP. And from PHP I have started to use databases and learn how to design databases well (even though I am not a db design expert yet, I'm getting better) using MySQL. So there wasn't really one thing that made me start programming, just a gentle slope down into it.

I am no way near an expert yet, but I find that spending a good couple of weeks just on programming or completing a PHP project of some kind was the best way to learn for me (with a lot of help from Sitepoint, programming books and tutorials). Learning PHP is an ongoing process anyway...you never get to the end of discovering new useful functions or new techniques. And once you've got your head round one programming language, it doesn't half as much time to get your head round the next language you want to learn.