SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Setting a Budget

OK - i know that talking about money and the cost of services is always a bit difficult but I have been reading a SitePoint Book calle 'Deliver First Class Web Sites' by Shirley Kaiser, and have come across something that I am unsure how to get straight.

A part of the checklists is one regarding budgets, but obvioulsy nothing is actualy said about cost, but the book makes a lot of sence talking about allowing sufficient budget for certain aspects of setting up and running a web site, including cost of software, web hosting, graphics and picture royalties.

These are all ok - you can find these out with a bit of googling, and find solutions to fit your budget - but what about programming?

I am not a programmer, and although I can set up a basic site (static) or install a CMS such as Joomla - i cannot add any functionality that I want without the use of a professional programmer... but heres the issue, what do i allow in my budget?

I know the answer is 'depends on what you want writing' but there has got to be some sort of rule of thumb based on a daily rate or something that i can apply.

Granted the total cost will depend on how many days the programming takes, level of post contract support etc, but at the moment I have nothing to go on - i can post arequest in the market place forum but the replies will go from the sublime to the rediculose as i suspect it could go from a professional company to an east european student looking to cut hie teeth on something.. so the prices will range wildly - but how will I know if the responces I get are high or low?

I know programmers complain of being poorly paid (what industry doesnt?) but does this mean minimum wage (here in the UK its 5.25 - ish -per hour) or do you all get $100 per hour and think this is realy poor?