Thread: Frontpage

Hybrid View

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Frontpage

I have designed our website using MS Frontpage for perhaps 5 years. Now, having purchased 'Build your own website the right way' and started getting into it I realize I am just a beginner.

I am rebuilding our website, writing and revising the HTML code by hand in Frontpage but I am having problems.

I view each page on the 'normal' version and then make revisions on the 'HTML' version - but then when I go to the 'Preview' version - it looks completely different.

What procedure should I be using to alternately write the code and view the results?

Brevity is greatly overrated brandaggio's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You seem like you know what is up and where you are at - that is the first step to improving your work - truthful acknowledgement of your current skillset.

Now you need to ditch FrontPage for good and never look back - it will be a never ending struggle that you will lose if you try to code and manage standards based pages in FP - that is the straight up reality.

MS has a replacement tool for FP (more or less a "Visual Studio lite") that I can recommend and you can actually use as you follow along with your book, it is Visual Web Developer Express (what a mouthful - but it is a solid app that generates clean code).

Most advanced coders tend to prefer just using a quality text editor for coding and a standards based browser for general previewing and testing. You will know when you are there (at this stage) because you won't need all the "features" of an IDE like Visual Web Developer or Dreamweaver, but just look at them as bloat because you can do it faster and better by hand.

SitePoint Evangelist superuser2's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I agree compleetly. GUIs make sloppy code, ditch them for good. I'm glad your are going to reform.