SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    359
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Half-Life video mode problem

    This is gong to sound weird but I changed the settings (configuration > video > video modes) to 800x600 to see what it is like, now it's missing the lowest two resolutions and only has the following under the Software tab.

    640x480
    800x600
    1024x768

    I know that there are two more, 400x300 and something else.. does anyone know how I can get these back?

    I tried like highlighting the lowest mode and pressing the up arrow key a few times, but the keys don't seem to work inside half-life.


    Thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    1,284
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well, what I would do is reinstall Half-Life and then just the default settings. Something similar happened to me except the game was all messed up and not visible.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    359
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm looking to avoid that, as I would have to re-download all the update patches.. and on a 56k dailup modem that would take a long time.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Grand Rapids, MI
    Posts
    1,284
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I haven't even began to attempt that. It is like over 70 megs!

  5. #5
    Captain Internet neil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    n.ireland
    Posts
    333
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you're not using a 3DFX card and you're trying to enable software video modes.. win9x/ME lists lower modes for games than it already supports, while win2K/NT does not.
    If this is really causing you problems, I suggested buying a new 3DFX card or changing OS.
    neil - Geocities, the trailer park of the web
    .<.<.<.<.<.<.<.<
    WEB[retype.net] + [guff.org]
    ICQ[273981] AIM[neiim]

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just bought and installed a Geforce 2 MX400 Video card and I tried to set the video to OpenGL, yet when I try and enter a game it tells me my device doesnt support OpenGL.

    AMD Athlon 750Mhz
    256Mhz
    DSL
    Geforce 2 MX400
    Maxtor 30GB 7200RPM Drive.
    Message Boards Installations - $75
    Message Boards Modifications - $10/ea
    LJDesign, VQPOWER.COM & CustomRides.net Admin
    E-Mail: luke@customrides.net


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •