SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 26

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast Checkmate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    margin-right: 0 - Doesn't Seem To Work

    I'm using a tables on my web page. Having margin-left and margin-top seem to eliminate the spaces, but margin-right doesn't seem to work. What am I missing here?

  2. #2
    What? Maelstrom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Whistler BC originally from Guelph Ontario
    Posts
    2,175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Since you seem to be getting rid of all margins try

    margin: 0;

    (
    Maelstrom Personal - Apparition Visions
    Development - PhP || Mysql || Zend || Devshed
    Unix - FreeBSD || FreeBsdForums || Man Pages
    They made me a sitepoint Mentor - Feel free to PM me or Email me and I will see if I can help.

  3. #3
    Anyone seen my cypher? OneChance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Setting a right margin either through "margin-right" or "margin" doesn't seem to be well-supported. Although if you tried it and it didn't work, then you've already determined that.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast Checkmate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Great...

  5. #5
    What? Maelstrom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Whistler BC originally from Guelph Ontario
    Posts
    2,175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by OneChance
    Setting a right margin either through "margin-right" or "margin" doesn't seem to be well-supported. Although if you tried it and it didn't work, then you've already determined that.
    Which browsers after ie5.5 and netscape 6 and opera don't support it. I haven;t had any problems with those?
    Maelstrom Personal - Apparition Visions
    Development - PhP || Mysql || Zend || Devshed
    Unix - FreeBSD || FreeBsdForums || Man Pages
    They made me a sitepoint Mentor - Feel free to PM me or Email me and I will see if I can help.

  6. #6
    Anyone seen my cypher? OneChance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Maelstrom
    Which browsers after ie5.5 and netscape 6 and opera don't support it. I haven;t had any problems with those?
    And you probably won't, but unfortunately not everyone has the very latest browsers. A lot of people are still using NS 4.x. Hell, I still get hits from IE 3.x users.

  7. #7
    What? Maelstrom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Whistler BC originally from Guelph Ontario
    Posts
    2,175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by OneChance
    And you probably won't, but unfortunately not everyone has the very latest browsers. A lot of people are still using NS 4.x. Hell, I still get hits from IE 3.x users.
    well in that case they don't support any CSS. ...(except ns4.x)
    Maelstrom Personal - Apparition Visions
    Development - PhP || Mysql || Zend || Devshed
    Unix - FreeBSD || FreeBsdForums || Man Pages
    They made me a sitepoint Mentor - Feel free to PM me or Email me and I will see if I can help.

  8. #8
    Anyone seen my cypher? OneChance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually, IE 3.x supports font-weight: bold.

  9. #9
    What? Maelstrom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Whistler BC originally from Guelph Ontario
    Posts
    2,175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by OneChance
    Actually, IE 3.x supports font-weight: bold.
    Really it supports one tag. Thats too funny. I have never bothered to code for ie4. and less. So I really wouldn't know
    Maelstrom Personal - Apparition Visions
    Development - PhP || Mysql || Zend || Devshed
    Unix - FreeBSD || FreeBsdForums || Man Pages
    They made me a sitepoint Mentor - Feel free to PM me or Email me and I will see if I can help.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Enthusiast Checkmate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hey, guys, I'm currently using the latest browsers, no doubt! Heck, I even have the latest OS (WinXP) and RH Linux 7.2 (although still a newbie)!

    The margin: 0 or margin-right: 0 in CSS doesn't seem to work. This is what I got so far:

    body { background-color: #ffffff;
    font-family: Verdana, Arial, sans-serif;
    color: #989898;
    font-size: 10pt;
    margin: 0 }

  11. #11
    .net install meltdown
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    View Ridge
    Posts
    692
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I doubt this will fix the problem but you never now.

    Specify a unit for the margin: margin 0px;

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast Checkmate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I tried that, isotope, but it still doesn't work. Thanks for trying, though.

  13. #13
    .net install meltdown
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    View Ridge
    Posts
    692
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Oh well, worth a shot.

    Can you post the code in question?

  14. #14
    SitePoint Enthusiast Checkmate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm sorry, but what do you mean by "posting the code in question"? Pardon my stupidity.

  15. #15
    Anyone seen my cypher? OneChance's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    281
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can you give us a link to the page you're having a problem with?

  16. #16
    SitePoint Enthusiast Checkmate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    58
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I didn't upload it yet. I'm just going to ignore what I've been trying to accomplish for now and move on.

  17. #17
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,858
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by isotope235
    Specify a unit for the margin: margin 0px;
    You don't have to specify units when the value is 0, but I'm thinking that his problem has something to do with the doctype he's using...

  18. #18
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Chico, Ca
    Posts
    1,125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If I understand what he is doing, why doesn't he just add these to the Body?

    Code:
    <body bgcolor="#000000" text="#000000" leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" rightmargin="0" bottom="0">

    Chuck
    "Happiness doesn't find you, you find happiness" -- Unknown
    www.chuckknows.com

  19. #19
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,858
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's the "old" HTML way of doing things. No doubt, margin:0; is better, but I want to figure out why it's not taking.

  20. #20
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Chico, Ca
    Posts
    1,125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well shoot,

    I don't want to be doing anything the "old" way, so when you figure it out could you post it

    Thanks

    Chuck
    "Happiness doesn't find you, you find happiness" -- Unknown
    www.chuckknows.com

  21. #21
    What? Maelstrom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Whistler BC originally from Guelph Ontario
    Posts
    2,175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Chuckie
    Well shoot,

    I don't want to be doing anything the "old" way, so when you figure it out could you post it

    Thanks

    Chuck
    I would like to know to. I use Margin:0 on every site and it works everytime.
    Maelstrom Personal - Apparition Visions
    Development - PhP || Mysql || Zend || Devshed
    Unix - FreeBSD || FreeBsdForums || Man Pages
    They made me a sitepoint Mentor - Feel free to PM me or Email me and I will see if I can help.

  22. #22
    <C²: web standards /> cybercodeur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    729
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    How exactly do you use your margin: 0 Maelstrom? Can you tell us how your CSS looks. Do you declare it in the BODY selector? Does it work in all browsers?
    Denis Boudreau <C²/> - Web Standards & Accessibility
    [+] ICQ number: 115649885 || Email: denis@cybercodeur.net
    [+] Daily Weblog on Web standards and accessibility : CYBERcodeur.net

  23. #23
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,858
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    In response to everyone, the CSS "new" way to set no margin around the entire page would be like this:

    Code:
    <style type="text/css">
    <!--
    body {
      margin: 0;
      padding: 0;
    }
    -->
    </style>
    You have to add the padding: 0 as well because of Opera. Opera will leave some padding around the page unless you do that, but Internet Explorer and Mozilla won't.

  24. #24
    What? Maelstrom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Whistler BC originally from Guelph Ontario
    Posts
    2,175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by cybercodeur
    How exactly do you use your margin: 0 Maelstrom? Can you tell us how your CSS looks. Do you declare it in the BODY selector? Does it work in all browsers?
    See colon. I didn't quite realize the Opera problem. But thats cause I don't have that browser to check with.

    body {
    margin: 0;
    }

    ...Thats for the tip colon.
    Maelstrom Personal - Apparition Visions
    Development - PhP || Mysql || Zend || Devshed
    Unix - FreeBSD || FreeBsdForums || Man Pages
    They made me a sitepoint Mentor - Feel free to PM me or Email me and I will see if I can help.

  25. #25
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    1,858
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No problem. I actually only found that out recently when I was doing some testing in Opera.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •