SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    200
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    "Form entries incomplete or invalid." Not happened earlier, why now???

    Hi,
    Just saw this error for one of the clients.. I have a radio button like this
    Code:
    <td>
    <input type="radio" name="fit_required" value="Y"<cfif fit_required eq "Y"> checked="checked"</cfif> /> Yes<br />
    <input type="radio" name="fit_required" value="N"<cfif fit_required eq "N"> checked="checked"</cfif> /> No
    </td>
    Since I have field name ending with _required, CF triggers some sort of automatic validation processing. Thats why you see an error like: “Form entries incomplete or invalid.”

    My question is : I didnt see this error for almost 1 yr with so many users successfully using it and never having any problems whatsoever and now out of the blue one of the users got this error. Can you tell me why? What made the error to be silent for so long and what triggered it now???

    Thanks,

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Take The Blue Pill neilmerton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    871
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    what version of CF is running?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    200
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    WE HAVE CF 7.... let me know if u need to know anything else....

  4. #4
    Take The Blue Pill neilmerton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Posts
    871
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    as far as i can recall this is a built-in 'feature' of ColdFusion - form fields ending in '_required' it will try to validate.

    more information can be found at:
    http://livedocs.macromedia.com/coldf...ormatData8.htm

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard creole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Nashvegas Baby!
    Posts
    7,845
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did you just recently switch to using cfforms?
    Adobe Certified Coldfusion MX 7 Developer
    Adobe Certified Advanced Coldfusion MX Developer
    My Blog (new) | My Family | My Freelance | My Recipes

  6. #6
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    200
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The code has cfform but its been that way for sometime now. We have this thing running for almost an yr now and I was shocked when user reported an error. I didnt know or realise what the issue was until I found on net that _required is one of the ways CF does validation.

    Nothing has been changed for an yr now and its been used quite often by ppl before. This is very strange and I dont know what it is.

    Thanks all


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •