SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

OO Question: No abstract classes or interfaces a good thing?

I'm looking at moving from PHP5 to Ruby, and I've recently had another look at the ruby-lang.org site. There's a section on how Ruby compares to PHP(5).

One of the differences is states is that "there’s no abstract classes or interfaces". I'm no OO guru, but wouldn't that be cause for concern? I've been using frameworks and developing in OO now for about 5 years and while I use abstract classes and interfaces sparringly, I've found them useful - especially when developing a custom Database abstraction layer.

To those of you who have come from another OO language to Ruby, and use Ruby outside of the RoR camp, I ask: do you miss not having abstract classes and interfaces? Is your life now easier without them? What are your thoughts on the matter?

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Abstract classes aren't really a big deal when you can change the details of any class/method whenever you want. Let's say you wanted to rewrite how Ruby does uppercasing of strings:
    Code:
    # ...some unrelated code up here...

class String
      def upcase
        #do what you want here
      end
    end

"Foo-Bar".upcase #will use your upcase method

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you can manipulate an object/class at any point, doesn't that make it more important that you can set some rules using an interface or overwrite abstract methods/classes to ensure that you're extending your classes in the right way?

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by neobuddah