SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard mPeror's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    1,724
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    can't login to phpMyAdmin

    Hi,

    My phpmyadmin suddenly started giving me a "Cannot log in to the MySQL server" error. The MySQL server is already running fine, but i still can't login. Anyone know how to fix this? It's on a local web server by the way.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard cranial-bore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,634
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have you made any changes to PhpMyAdmin or MySQL?
    Try looking at the PhpMyAdmin configuration file, and using those settings to try to login to MySQL via the command line, or MySQL Administrator program. Can you get access that way?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try adding old_passwords=1 to /etc/my.cnf

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard mPeror's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Saudi Arabia
    Posts
    1,724
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    And how can i login to MySQL via the command line? i'm using XAMPP by the way.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot fatnic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Lincoln, UK
    Posts
    191
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    you may be having the same problems I had after I added a password to my MySQL login. You need to go to the phpMyAdmin folder and edit 'config.inc.php'. Change the line
    Code:
     $cfg['Servers'][$i]['password']      = '';
    and insert your password. If, ofcourse, this is the problem you are having. If not then I don't know!

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    SH
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Look config.inc

    Code:
    /* Select mysqli if your server has it */
    $cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysql';
    Change this to

    Code:
    /* Select mysqli if your server has it */
    $cfg['Servers'][$i]['extension'] = 'mysqli';


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •