SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Is the Sitepoint Javascript book to "advanced" for someone new to learning javascript

I've been on Amazon and other places looking for the best book for learning javascript. It seems there are a lot of opinions about the best resource for someone totally new to javascript. I like Sitepoint books but, I'm wondering if it may assume prior knowledge of javascript. Any total newbs get the book and find it helpful? I've seen the W3C and "beginner" tutorials on the web but didn't find many of them helpful.

Thank you,

Mike

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I recommend you "JavaScript Bible", it just rocks. Perfect to learn JavaScript with it and to later have as a reference book.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Avoid SitePoint Javascript books, they're horrible in my opinion (especially DHTML utopia). If you have a programming background of any kind (at least the basics), then get Wrox's "Javascript For Web Developers". It's an excellent book with easy-to-follow examples, and makes the tough stuff pretty easy.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've found the Wrox (I don't have a programming background) books and Bible books a little intimidating due to their size. I'm bummed to hear such a strong reaction to the Sitepoint book? Hmmm....

I need a JS book with training wheels :^ )

M

padawan silver trophybronze trophy markbrown4's Avatar
    Mentioned
    28 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Avoid SitePoint Javascript books, they're horrible in my opinion (especially DHTML utopia)
    It's one of my favourite books.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I found the SitePoint books very terse with tons of concepts to understand. I don't consider myself an advanced programmer, but a decent one anyway and the Javascript books are tough to figure out.