User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Ie7 Flyout Menu Help

Hi guys,

I am currently updating websites due to the new release of IE7.

I am new to CSS i can read and edit a little but not that confident.

This site is php driven but the problem seems to be in the CSS.

http://www.eximo.com.au/

The menu works fine in IE6 but seems to have a problem in IE7.

The SubMenus don't seem to hover or float properly. Once you go over the menu it will show the submenus but once you try to click on the sub menus they disappear.

I have looked around in the web to fix the problem and i have found out that hover doesn't work that well in the new IE7. I am confused and don't want to edit the menu.css because it may change the site.

Can anyone help ?

http://www.eximo.com.au/ - website
    http://www.eximo.com.au/menu.css - CSS for the menu

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tyssen's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You've given the menu some IE-only styles with the * html hack. IE7 doesn't understand this hack but it looks like it probably still needs those styles. You're probably better creating an IE-only stylesheet and serving it up with conditional comments.

In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm on a library PC right now that's running IE 6, so I dont have access to 7.

What you may want to try in the meantime (until I can get a proper look at it) is add min-height: 1% to your nested lists (assuming they're lists - see the next sentence). These are the lists that are inside your main list (I didn't look at your code - I'll do that when I get home).

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)