SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 29
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    605
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Active desktop recovery, desktop.htt problem

    Hi,

    I've suddenly started having a problem with Active Desktop Recovery being shown every time I start my (Win XP Pro) machine. When I click "Restore my Active Desktop" I get the following error:



    "An error has occured in a script on this page:

    Line 65

    Char 1

    file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/My%20Name/Application%20Data/Microsoft/Internet%20Explorer/Desktop.htt"


    I've googled this and the only solution I can come up with is to delete the Desktop.htt file. I looked for this in the location above but the file isn't there!? I've made sure hidden files are shown. I did a system search for this file, and it drew a blank.

    I thought it might be a problem with my recent installation of IE7, but I've reinstalled this and it still doesn't make a difference.


    Has anyone got any ideas how to solve this?

    Thanks...

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've got the same problem here, on a domain with 70 users!

    I'm currently talking with Microsoft tech support about this problem. It appears to a problem somewhere in the local profile in Documents and Settings which is not compatible with IE7. I have found two ways to fix the problem so far -

    1. Uninstall IE7
    2. Login as an administrator and delete the users profile, when the user logs back in a new profile is created, but obviously you lose all the program settings - not the best way but it works

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Update,

    have now sorted a fix for this problem

    run regedit

    find this entry - HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Desktop\SafeMode\Components

    change the key value - DeskHtmlVersion REG_DWORD 0x00000110(272) to decimal zero

    Close regedit log off and log back on.

    This has worked for all our XP clients

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Heres a basic script to change the above registry setting

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER = &H80000001
    strComputer = "."
    Set objReg = GetObject("winmgmts:\\" & strComputer & "\root\default:StdRegProv")
    strKeyPath = "Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Desktop\SafeMode\Components"
    strValue = "0"
    ValueName = "DeskHtmlVersion"
    objReg.SetDWORDValue HKEY_CURRENT_USER, strKeyPath, ValueName, strValue

    copy this to notepad and save as activedesktop.vbs, then run the file, logoff then log back in again

    hope this helps
    Last edited by middo; Nov 10, 2006 at 06:23.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    605
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sorry to bump this mega-old thread, but it happened to me again, and I was confused with editing the registry (sounds a bit serious for someone who knows nothing about that stuff). So I continued Googling and found a much simpler solution. Just right click desktop, select settings and change your screen resolution. Click okay and problem is solved (obviously you can then change your resolution back).

    HTH.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    orange country, california
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thank you for this thread.

    I just had exactly the same problem.

    I had started down the path of taking stuff off my desktop gradually and eliminating the wallpaper changing program to see if that wouldn't fix the problem. I had also done the delete desktop.htt fix and so far nothing had worked.

    Changing the screen resolution back and forth worked instantly, thanks.

    Does anybody understand why this thing happened? In my case, my computer, which is normally very stable had crashed just before I had the problem.

    Small rant: One of the things which I find annoying about Microsoft software is that when bad stuff happens there is often very little information provided in the error messages that would allow the problem to be fixed. Perhaps this is another example where this criticism is justified.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am searching the solution of this problem in google, and come back here. lol~~

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict shoaaib's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Milton Keynes
    Posts
    201
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    There is a simple solution.... just select the file .BMP extension for desktop background or wall paper (whatever you say) and restart your computer.... it will solve your problem...

  9. #9
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up

    Thanks a Lot Middo:

    YouR Update,

    have now sorted this problem

    "I ran regedit \ HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Desktop\SafeMode\Components
    changed the key value - DeskHtmlVersion REG_DWORD 0x00000110(0)

    when logged back in, it is working fine. i have not faced any issue ever since.

    you are a life saver man, keep it up


    Sakthivel

  10. #10
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    24
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by shakti_achary View Post
    Thanks a Lot Middo:

    YouR Update,

    have now sorted this problem

    "I ran regedit \ HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Desktop\SafeMode\Components
    changed the key value - DeskHtmlVersion REG_DWORD 0x00000110(0)

    when logged back in, it is working fine. i have not faced any issue ever since.

    you are a life saver man, keep it up


    Sakthivel
    I tried that in Vista but doesn't work for me, I am still having this problem,

    Anyone have a solution for vista?

  11. #11
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My problem is that though I dont get that Active Desktop Recovery screen anymore by doing the HKEY thing, I do get a white screen which is partial covers my desktop. I have an XP.

    Any help would be appreciate.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanx a lot middo....
    problem solved

  13. #13
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Unhappy

    "I ran regedit \ HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Desktop\SafeMode\Components
    changed the key value - DeskHtmlVersion REG_DWORD 0x00000110(0)
    This fix seems to work for about 2 days and then, the value is back to 272. So I have to keep changing it. Is there a perm way to resolve this issue??

  14. #14
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by middo View Post
    Update,

    have now sorted a fix for this problem

    run regedit

    find this entry - HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Desktop\SafeMode\Components

    change the key value - DeskHtmlVersion REG_DWORD 0x00000110(272) to decimal zero

    Close regedit log off and log back on.

    This has worked for all our XP clients
    I know this post is a bit late. I had this issue on one of my computers for over a year. But this certainly worked. Thanks for this!

  15. #15
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I ran regedit \ HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Desktop\SafeMode, but when i got to safemode, there was no folder inside of it named "components". The only folder in side safemode is "general". Can someone please help???

  16. #16
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Kokkada
    Posts
    201
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My desktop completely hanged after using regedit.

    I reinstall windows Xp, problem solved.

  17. #17
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi,

    Just a kwik msg to say thanks to danwednesday for your post, which I also found, whilst 'googling' for a solution, to above issue.

    Thank u once again.


    KR

    Magnetar


  18. #18
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by middo View Post
    Update,

    have now sorted a fix for this problem

    run regedit

    find this entry - HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Desktop\SafeMode\Components

    change the key value - DeskHtmlVersion REG_DWORD 0x00000110(272) to decimal zero

    Close regedit log off and log back on.

    This has worked for all our XP clients
    this solution worked like charm thanks for the solution...

  19. #19
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by davefoc View Post
    Thank you for this thread.

    I just had exactly the same problem.

    I had started down the path of taking stuff off my desktop gradually and eliminating the wallpaper changing program to see if that wouldn't fix the problem. I had also done the delete desktop.htt fix and so far nothing had worked.

    Changing the screen resolution back and forth worked instantly, thanks.
    Agreed - I got this with my VirtualBox IE7 install and also started down this path, but just changing the desktop size worked perfectly without doing any regediting...

  20. #20
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    middo - the script worked for me on xp thanks

  21. #21
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I found this thread through Google, like many of you, and decided to just TRY changing my desktop background to see if it worked. (I tried changing the resolution first and it didn't fix anything.) Changing the background image did! When I put it back on the image I'd had originally, it went back to the "Active Desktop Recovery" mess. I don't know if I moved that .jpg file and THAT'S why it freaked out (I don't remember doing that recently?) but when I browsed to that file's location and chose it as my background again, it now works just fine.

    I wish it'd just say what the problem is in plain language! "I can't find your desktop image." Oh well. Hope my input helps someone save a little frustration.

  22. #22
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Active desktop recovery - resolution

    Seems like changing ANYTHING in the user profile causes it to be rewritten, thereby solving the problem.

    Changing the Settings --> Resolution is probably the simplest way to do this.

    I chose a different approach, based on another article I read.
    Using Windows Explorer, I right-clicked on Desktop, went to Properties, selected the tab "Desktop", clicked the button "Customize desktop", selected the tab "Web". There I saw one entry "My Current Home Page". I selected the checkbox. This caused 80% of my desktop wallpaper to be covered with a blank page (which is my "home page").

    I shut down Windows, turning my machine completely off, then back on again. Went back, turned off the checkbox, turned the machine off again, then back on. Everything seems normal now. We'll see what happens in 2 days (as someone else above complained about).

  23. #23
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by middo View Post
    Heres a basic script to change the above registry setting

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER = &H80000001
    strComputer = "."
    Set objReg = GetObject("winmgmts:\\" & strComputer & "\root\default:StdRegProv")
    strKeyPath = "Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Desktop\SafeMode\Components"
    strValue = "0"
    ValueName = "DeskHtmlVersion"
    objReg.SetDWORDValue HKEY_CURRENT_USER, strKeyPath, ValueName, strValue

    copy this to notepad and save as activedesktop.vbs, then run the file, logoff then log back in again

    hope this helps
    Script worked flawlessly, For those who may try, When you run the script it appears nothing happens, but just log out then in again and you'll be staring at your pretty wallpaper once again.

  24. #24
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Changing the background image worked for me too. Didn't even need to restart. Let's hope the fix persists.

    I first tried the suggestion to change the screen resolution, but that didn't help me.

    I occasionally encounter this Active Desktop Recovery nonsense whenever my system freezes and I need to shut down illegally. On this laptop, the problem seems to happen the most when I plug a device into a USB port that isn't feeling very friendly. The cursor freezes in place, and I can't even launch the Windows menu to shut my system down properly.

    Thanks to everyone for their suggestions, and especially for alternatives to a regedit solution.

  25. #25
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hiii,

    Try uninstalling IE 7 and restart. Try installing IE 7 again and make sure you are not connected to the Internet when you re-install

    Thanks.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •