SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast stilltsie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    FF and IE not displaying the same

    In FF on the left side I have a bg image repeating vertically. In IE it doesnt show up. Have a look with both browsers and tell me what you think might be the cause..

    http://www.brettadams.net/arena/boxoffice.htm

    Any ideas as to why? Thanks for your help!

  2. #2
    SitePoint Guru Rob_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Turning off your style sheets brings it back. I'll look further...

  3. #3
    SitePoint Guru Rob_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    OK, I think I found it.
    The width for your main table is 200, which is not wide enough to accomodate the nested tables.

    Line 19 in your code:
    HTML Code:
    <table width="200" border="0" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
    Last edited by Rob_D; Oct 28, 2006 at 01:19.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Enthusiast stilltsie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hmm, yea I picked up on that too and just made the change to 762px wide. Still not showing up.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Guru Rob_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What if you made it wider?
    Try 850px just to see if that make a difference.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast stilltsie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well Im getting somewhere. If i make it really wide it shows up, but then of course the table is wider than the header and thats not going to work.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Guru Rob_D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I guess some of your nested tables are causing the problem.
    Try using CSS instead of tables.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast stilltsie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yea I was waiting for the css comment. anyway I got it to work so whatever. no css on this site simply because its quicker to bang out in dreamweaver imo.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •