SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Embedding YouTube in XHTML?

    I've been rewriting one of my pages and when I try to put a YouTube video in my page it doesn't display properly in IE, although it looks fine in FireFox. Anyone know what's up with that? The page I'm working on is here:

    http://dangerouslyfun.com/index2.html

  2. #2
    Brevity is greatly overrated brandaggio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,424
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I would suggest using this cross browser code in replace of what you currently have:
    HTML Code:
    <object type="application/x-shockwave-flash"
     data="http://www.youtube.com/v/knKDLhgeOwM" height="350"
     width="425"><param name="movie"
     value="http://www.youtube.com/v/knKDLhgeOwM" /></object>
    That should do it.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hmm...it still isn't working. This is what it looks like when I open it in IE:


  4. #4
    Brevity is greatly overrated brandaggio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,424
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Does this also stall for you (it is my suggested code and nothing else)? It shouldn't.

    The Flash player for Linux is not so hot and I run IE 6 under WINE. Nonetheless, the video still plays all the way through like a charm.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually, it does. That's weird. I always use Firefox so I guess I just haven't noticed it until now.

  6. #6
    Brevity is greatly overrated brandaggio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,424
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by volare
    Actually, it does. That's weird. I always use Firefox so I guess I just haven't noticed it until now.
    It does or doesn't "work" for you in IE (my link)?

    BTW - your page (with the new code) works fine in IE 6 under WINE - played all the way through without a hiccup on Linux.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    97
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It does not work.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •