SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

The "great choice" Dedicated Server Hosting company?

I am an independent web developer, have had 4 different Linux/Windows dedicated servers to host my clients. rackspace.com, theplanet.com,
    GoDaddy, and one in San Francisco that I won't even mention (they run big ads, and are a nightmare).

Each of these companies had their strengths, and of course (like me
    had their weaknesses. None of which i could discern beforehand; I had to go through a lengthy period of trials and tribulations to figure it out, with
    my sites/livelyhood on the line. I had a half dozen sites running on the servers last year, when I was less serious about the web business.

Now that I have a half dozen more sites, and am anticipating moving towards 30-40 sites on the server next year, I am a bit perplexed about how to pick my next hosting company. So this hosting choice is getting more serious. What I'm trying to figure out is, what is the best methodology for figuring out the right dedicated server hosting company?

I hesitate to ask for a particular company recommendation, because of the obvious potential for people to pitch "their" firm. I'm more interested in
    what others have learned about how to screen it down. Part of it, is just figuring out how to narrow it down to a dozen candidate companies; and perhaps that has already been discussed somewhere on SP.

Or... perhaps I'm just missing the point If so, let me have it~

I do know what i want: My priorities are (#1) reliability (up time) and critical mass (a large enough operation, that they can afford true 24x7x365 support); (#2) great service - mature tech staff (not outsourced, or a closet dysfunctional company with disgruntled techies, etc); (#3) a decent price - not the lowest, but not a huge premium either.

I would be glad to provide more detail if I've left anything out. Just let me know what's missing.