SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Exclamation Organizing a New Website - Folders or Not?

First off, I'm not a developer. This is a new site I am building for myself. It will be primarily a "content" travel site. I figure the site will eventually reach 500 pages or more .. depending on my energy, success, budget .. and my .. um .. longevity.

I have a couple of dozen pages built and have fiddled with the navigation enough to start looking at alternatives.

I am making some assumptions based on reading Sitepoint and a couple of other webmaster forums for a few years.

Folder Structure
    • In terms of organization, going with folders seem a lot easier to "control"

• Well-named folders add some good keywords into filepaths

• I have heard that SEs don't rank second level pages as well as top level pages

Page Name Structure
    • If SEs rank top level pages better, I should get more traffic

• Well-named pages also add good keywords into filepaths, but not as many as well-named pages and well-named folders

• In terms of organization, searching through a list of several hundred pages in one folder can get tedious .. (I know, as I have one site with 1,200 pages under /public_html)

Naming Pages
    I figure if I go with the all-pages-in-home-folder, the naming conventions are even more important.

I plan on using something like:
    • country-province-province name-attraction(or?).php or
    • country-subject-location-specific attraction(or?).php

I think that "country-city" might be opposite from the way most users search, but it would probably save what little hair I have left.

I would appreciate comments and recommendations.

. shoooo... silver trophy logic_earth's Avatar
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)