SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    100% background problems in FF and IE

    Hi,

    could someone cast their eye over a problem i'm having with my 100% background on this site.

    when opened in FF the background is not 100% height. it is in IE but in IE, it does not give it scroll bars

    any ideas? any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Enthusiast Northern Star's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    96
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    On an unrelated note - lovely design!
    "If it ain't broken, don't fix it!"
    ----
    Northern Star - Web design, stategy & development.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    hi,

    the simple answer to that is because i don't really know what i'm doing! i am just learning as i go along and seeing what works across various browsers. i just tried to put it together the way i thought would work best.

    is it really a case of having to start from scratch? what do you suggest all4nerds? i have, bit-by-bit had (much appreciated!) help from this forum getting this site to this stage and don't know that if i unravel it, if i could get it back together

    Thanks Northern Star, it is probably quite obvious that i am more designer than coder..

  4. #4
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thank you very much for that all4!
    i'm going to have see how i get on with that layout now but it does sit alot better than my efforts! obvioulsy!

    i just have no idea about floats and may be calling for the forum help again as i proceed! but if it is the right way to do it then i'd rather do it that way.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ok, one more question... why is the left menu jumping about in ie? i can't see any difference than what i had before and it was ok and is still ok in ff

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tyssen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    4,067
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's a hasLayout issue. Add:

    Code:
    * html .l li { height: 1%;}
    for IE only.

    (Also, you should probably give your list an ID different from the class of the container holding it.)

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    again guys, thank you very much!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •