SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question What is the best javascript editor?

Hi everyone,
    I just recently go into javascript, as I want to add ajax features to my site. I use Macromedia Dreamweaver for creating html and Zend Studio for creating php, but now I don't know what editor I should use for creating javascript. As I'm new to this world, I don't know if there's some superior IDE to javascript as Zend is to PHP? If there is, please tell me, or at least tell me the editor you're using. I would be very grateful.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Personally I use eclipse with the JSEclipse plugin. But that might be a bit overwhelming if you haven't used eclipse before.

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just went to the site and I think I'll give it a try. Thank you Pepejeria, it's really helpful.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    JSEclipse is just a plugin. You need to have eclipse installed first.

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Sure, although for me it's a bit heavy (latest version 120mb) for the use of just a plugin

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Aptana is an excellent Javascript IDE (also very good for HTML and CSS). Cross-platform too.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, maybe Aptana is better for you. I second that.

And VnVision, if you worry about harddisk space, then I will have to recommend you Notepad. It is pre-installed on your system and doesn't use many resources

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Notepad sounds like a good solution, the only problem is that you're gonna spend more time writing code and scratching your head looking for errors. Thanks for the recommendation Pepejeria lol.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged