SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict inverse.chi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Oxford, UK | Durham, UK
    Posts
    243
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    equal height columns

    how would i go about creating equal sized columns

    http://inverse.ifastnet.com/tms/beta.html
    http://inverse.ifastnet.com/tms/beta.css

    so far the right hand column doesn't match the left, and i was wondering how would i go about making them the same size. any help would be apreciated, or comments about my (lame) skills with css.

    thanks =)

    p.s the logo is a temp one and the bit out the side is ment to be like that.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard rbutler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Springfield, MO
    Posts
    1,867
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1) Use javascript to do it:

    http://projectseven.com/tutorials/cs...umns/index.htm

    2) Use a repeating background image on your container wrapper, where your left and right content columns reside

    Both simulate equalizing columns.
    Ryan Butler

    Midwest Web Design

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast ComputerGuru247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You could cheat and make this:

    Code:
    #middle //holds everything
    {
     width:blah;
     background-color:purple;
    }
    
    #left //your side bar
    {
     blah blah blah
    }
    
    #right //your content
    {
     background-color:#ffffff;
     blah blah
    }
    It will put the background as purple and cover the left side without JS. I use it all the time. Otherwise there are some clear functions for IE and FF, but they are a pain to use and understand.
    Bryan

    Breakpoint Designs - Web Design, Logos, and more!

  4. #4
    Brevity is greatly overrated brandaggio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,424
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by inverse.chi
    how would i go about creating equal sized columns

    http://inverse.ifastnet.com/tms/beta.html
    http://inverse.ifastnet.com/tms/beta.css

    so far the right hand column doesn't match the left, and i was wondering how would i go about making them the same size. any help would be apreciated, or comments about my (lame) skills with css.

    thanks =)

    p.s the logo is a temp one and the bit out the side is ment to be like that.
    You might want to take a look at the layout examples here as a solid starting point for some approaches:
    http://www.pmob.co.uk/

    You can also fake this sort of thing with a repeating background image - its called "faux colums":
    http://alistapart.com/articles/fauxcolumns/

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict inverse.chi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Oxford, UK | Durham, UK
    Posts
    243
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thank you so much for your help all of you,i will use these all for further use. man, this forum is the best for help with web design!
    i used ComputerGuru247 method of doing this, and it worked perfectly in IE, i'm not sure about ff because i dont have it installed at work.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Enthusiast ComputerGuru247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Glad I could be of some service.
    Bryan

    Breakpoint Designs - Web Design, Logos, and more!

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict inverse.chi's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Oxford, UK | Durham, UK
    Posts
    243
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    i have another problem which i guess is also linked to columns so i'll post it here.

    http://inverse.ifastnet.com/tms2/contact.html

    from this page you can see alot of white space due to the content not filling this up. and because of the previous method i used to sort the column issue i cannot apply the background to. going to look on pmob for some insight into how to do this another way.

    thanks =)

  8. #8
    SitePoint Enthusiast ComputerGuru247's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why isn't the background color on the menu purple? It would go down I am pretty sure.
    Bryan

    Breakpoint Designs - Web Design, Logos, and more!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •