SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    379
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Smile Anyone mind checking this for me?

    Wondered if anyone would mind checking if i have done this right please?

    Here it is i'm talking about the little enter buttons at the bottom of the columns.

    I have added a class to each button so they all stay at the bottom regardless. Positing them with pixel margin height.

    Seems to work in FF ok but they are not level in Safari.

    Is this right, if so why not level in Safari?

    Many thanks


  2. #2
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,478
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I don't have access to a Mac at the moment, but if you give me a few minutes, I'll be more than happy to check it for you.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    379
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thankyou, that would be great.

    The Safari thing is a problem but would like to know if this is the right way of doing it really. If not i assume the proper way wouldn't have the Safari problem :s

  4. #4
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,478
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You have four HTML errors (same ID being used multiple times--switch those to classes). Fix those, re-validate your page, and then check in your browsers. If the problem persists, don't hesitate to post a reply in this thread, and I'll take another look at it.

    http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=ht...idmedia.co.uk/

  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    379
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Thankyou Dan.

    It validates now http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=ht...media.co.uk%2F

    But still doesn't level out in Safari and cannot check on a pc's IE or FF, looks ok on my Mac FF.

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tyssen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    4,067
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    They're misaligned in FF Windows too. Why not make the containers position: relative and the buttons position: absolute; bottom: 0? Then you wouldn't need to give each one a separate class.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    379
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Err, ok i'll give it go not sure what you mean, but will try. If they don't have separate class how will the button div work?

    Thankyou Tyssen

  8. #8
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    379
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Right think this is it i don't really know what i have done but it seems to work, added some span classes so the buttons could be seen when the style turned off and it validates ok.

    One thing i don't get is the link css i had to use
    Code:
    .bottomLink{
    	height: 18px;
    	width: 55px;
    	display: block;
    	position:absolute;
    	bottom:0px;
    	background-image: url(../imgs/enterLittle.gif);
    	left: 41px;
    	margin-bottom: 7px;
    }
    
    .bottomLink:hover{
    	background-image: url(../imgs/enterLittleOver.gif);
    	height: 18px;
    	width: 55px;
    	margin: 0px;
    	padding: 0px;
    	display: block;
    	position:absolute;
    	left: 41px;
    	margin-bottom: 7px;
    }
    Usually and what i know its a:link and a:hover but that didn't work, any idea why?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •