Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Talking followup on post "Is it safe to abandon PHP4 yet?"

I read the thread and the various replies to the post "Is it safe to abandon PHP4 yet?", and it reminded me of something. I have been developing in ms access 97 for several years. I tried 2000, and even 2003. I even downloaded the beta of the latest and tried it. After all the mess, I still use access 97. I mention this because over the last year I've been learning php. I even switched to the 5.0, but switched back to 4.4.3. Here's my point: People cannot leave well enough alone. Why can't they get something that works well and leave it alone for at least several years? Sure, now-a-days you have a lot of flash and non-sence on web sites. But you know something, all the extra bull isn't really needed to simply pull records from a database, edit records, add records, etc. You take a large warehouse that ships 50 to 100 truck loads a day, if they use php as a frontend to their backend database weather oracle or mysql, or whatever, they want one thing. And that is to pull up that order, load that truck, and press on. They don't need a cute little flash movie, or something bouncing across a screen. They need to search for load number 125576-5, get the info, and load the freakin truck. NOW, with that said, why does php5 even exist? I think php4 is great and should be around for another 10 to 100 years. When will modern humans leave stuff alone. To close: I liked microsoft better when they only had a small number of employees. I believe some of the bull applications people are coming up with now is due to the lack of having anything better to do. You hire those 1000 extra college grads, and turn them loose coming up with non-sense instead of good stable applications. Some of the best applications were written in the old dbase 3 plus. Good ole raw databasing, no cute little thingies all over screen.