SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Setting up php-5.2.0

    Upon opening php-5.2.0 to check it's running I get the following error message:

    Unable to load dynamic library'./php_mysql.dll' - The specified module could not be found.

    Along with:

    Unable to load dynamic library'./php_mysqli.dll' - The specified module could not be found.

    The only other information I can find on this problem tells me that I'm using a version of libsmysql.dll that's too recent. Is it because I'm trying to install 5.2.0 that I'm having this problem?

    I've definitely changed the php.ini file to the specifications you give in "DATABASE DRIVEN WEBSITE" I've also sighted extension_dir.

    Where am I going wrong?

  2. #2
    Apache Expert i_like_php's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,342
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    are you using windows or linux?
    i love php

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm running windows xp.

  4. #4
    Apache Expert i_like_php's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,342
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    did you uncomment the line for php_mysql.dll? did you cut and paste the files into your windows/system32 folder?
    i love php

  5. #5
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    No I hadn't cut and pasted php_mysql.dll, I've done it now and everything seems to be working just fine, I also cut and pasted php_mysqli.dll as it was another file that I uncommented in my php.ini file.

    I would like to add that after a good flick through the pages of "BUILD YOUR OWN DATABASE DRIVEN WEBSITE 3rd Ed." I couldn't find the part about pasting those files over anywhere.

    I wonder if this is because I'm using php 5.2?

    Well regardless, everything is up and running now, you've been a great help.

  6. #6
    Apache Expert i_like_php's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,342
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by employboy View Post
    No I hadn't cut and pasted php_mysql.dll, I've done it now and everything seems to be working just fine, I also cut and pasted php_mysqli.dll as it was another file that I uncommented in my php.ini file.

    I would like to add that after a good flick through the pages of "BUILD YOUR OWN DATABASE DRIVEN WEBSITE 3rd Ed." I couldn't find the part about pasting those files over anywhere.

    I wonder if this is because I'm using php 5.2?

    Well regardless, everything is up and running now, you've been a great help.
    they've been advising this since php4, and it still applies to php5 as well. it's good you finally got your scripts up and running now. glad i could be of help!
    i love php


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •