SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

(newbie) Two windows interacting

I'm new to javascript so this may be a dumb question.

I have two windows, one, the 'main' window which contains a blog entry, and a 'child' window that contains item in an ordered list. Each item A-Z has a corresponding word a-z in the main window. Whever the user puts his mouse over, or clicks on a-z in the main window, I'd like the corresponding item in the child window to be brought to the top and highlighted.

I haven't had much luck looking around for answer because I'm not sure what I should be looking for. Even just some search terms would be helpful (though I prefer a nice solution!).

Thanks
    cwh

I ♥ PHP
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi cowhead and welcome to Sitepoint.

When you say you have two windows, do you mean two browser windows open?

We will help you figure this one out.

Regards,
    Jordan

SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tyssen's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you're using your javascript to open a new window like popup.html, I'd think it would work if you gave each list item an ID and make your anchors point to those like popup.html#listItemID_1.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, let me clarify. The user will be reading a blog entry ad click on a link that will spawn a new window (the 'child' window).

I think I nkow what you mean tyssen, I'm going to test it out and I'll let you know if it worked.

Thanks for the quick replies!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The most common way to address the child window from the parent is by assigning the window.open statement to a variable as in: winX=window.open(etc.~

Then one addresses the child window's objects as winX.document.etc~ or variables as winX.variable_name