SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Don't use spacer .gifs, they bloat page size and add an unnecessary level of complexity. Use a spacer row or cell, as these accomplish tghe same goal, are easy to change and maintain, and are easy and do not bloat page size.

  2. #2
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I want to have a side menu (similiar to the one on the Sitepoint web site) and then have content to the right of the menu in the body of the page. I am not sure how to do this, and would prefer not to use frames.

    Can someone help?


  3. #3
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What you need is a table layout. Basically your entire page will be structured to fit inside an invisible table.

    If you've never used tables in HTML before, it might be a good idea to read up on them. They are by far the most useful tool for creating complex page layouts.

    Some good tutorials on tables are available here: http://hotwired.lycos.com/webmonkey/authoring/tables/

    If you get stuck, give a holler and we'll be glad to help.

    ------------------
    -Kevin Yank.
    http://www.SitePoint.com/
    Helping Small Business Grow Online!

  4. #4
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've used tables, I was just not sure how to code the menu. I want my content to the right of the menu, and all I know what to do is create a gif file called "spacer" and do something with the table data and row cells.


  5. #5
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    District of Columbia
    Posts
    373
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    relyt,

    I beg to differ: as far as I am concerned, ntscape doesn't always properly render empty table cells. If you use a spacer (transparent 1x1 gif) in a cell its better. For example, you can control the height of yout row that way. 1x1 transparent gif doesnt take long to load at all!

  6. #6
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay, then can you explain how I would do this? I would give an e-mail for you to help me, but I don't want Spam.

    I have this:
    Menu item 1
    Menu item 2
    Menu item 3
    Menu item 4
    Menu item 5
    Menu item 6

    I may wait to see what my designer does, then see if he can make some more adjustments if it doesn't fit.


  7. #7
    SitePoint Author Kevin Yank's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,571
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Something like this:

    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">code/font><HR><pre>
    &lt;TABLE BORDER=0&gt;
    &lt;TR VALIGN=TOP&gt;
    &lt;TD BGCOLOR=#??????&gt;
    &lt;!-- set your menu's bgcolor above --&gt;
    &lt;!-- your menu here --&gt;
    &lt;/TD&gt;
    &lt;TD&gt;
    &lt;!-- your content here --&gt;
    &lt;/TD&gt;
    &lt;/TR&gt;
    &lt;/TABLE&gt;
    [/code]

    ------------------
    -Kevin Yank.
    http://www.SitePoint.com/
    Helping Small Business Grow Online!

    [This message has been edited by kyank (edited May 04, 2000).]

  8. #8
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I post my email address here and have only gotten two spam messages traceable back to this forum. If another Sitepoint Member spams you then bring it up with a moderator or administrator.

    ------------------
    Wayne Luke
    SitePoint Moderator
    ICQ 29015947

  9. #9
    Serial Publisher silver trophy aspen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Posts
    12,939
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The original posted asked to put his menu on the right side of the page. While you could probably do this with tables it wouldn't look right on all display configurations.

    lets say I have my desktop set at 1100x800 or whatever. The menu will be in the middle of the screen.

    If I set my desktop at 600x400 or whatever, then I wont see the menu at all without horizontal scrolling, which we all hate.

    The bottom line is we read from left to right, and so do our machines. All internet browsers will display as much of the top left of the page as they possibly can, so while you may want to put it on the right, you can't without jeopardizing compatibility problems.

    I've never been to a website with the menu on the right, maybe thats for a reason.

    Chris

  10. #10
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    133
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    <BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote/font><HR>Originally posted by aspen:
    The original posted asked to put his menu on the right side of the page. <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
    Actually, I wanted it on the left side, but right side might be easier.
    Hmmph, I don't mean to sound mad, but I am not a "He".

    Would there be an easier way to do this menu thing using frames (I don't want to, but I may have to use frames)



    [This message has been edited by clueless (edited May 05, 2000).]

  11. #11
    Your Lord and Master, Foamy gold trophy Hierophant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 1999
    Location
    Lancaster, Ca. USA
    Posts
    12,305
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you want it on the left side use Kevin's Code above. If you want it on the right side just switch the content and menu cells. If you want to make sure it doesn't scroll horizontally and looks good in all resolutions then make your table a fixed size, say either 600 pixels or 780 pixels, and surround it with:
    &lt;center&gt;&lt;div align=center&gt;&lt;table stuff&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;/center&gt;

    It really is a simple problem if you step back from it a second and stop trying to make more difficult by thinking to hard.

    ------------------
    Wayne Luke
    SitePoint Moderator
    ICQ 29015947


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •