SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast K1975's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    IE browser issue

    Just building my very first site using a site point text "Building your site the right way using HTML & CSS". In Firefox it look fine (for a first project) I have used floated position for images and border, padding etc. But today checked it in IE and there is no formating and everything is aligned to the left hand site.
    Anyone help me out with whats going on and how I fix it ?(remember very new and following out of a book at this stage)

  2. #2
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hook us up with a link or the code in snippets...

  3. #3
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,495
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Can you provide a link to your page?

  4. #4
    SitePoint Addict
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    399
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    got your doctype right??

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast K1975's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    not online yet

    The site is not online yet (I think that is a few chapters away!!).

    This is my doctype code which is exactly how the book said to do it

    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
    "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">

    ??

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy Nadia P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    NSW Australia
    Posts
    3,564
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Is the stylesheet linked or are the styles i the head of your page?

    if you can't upload your page., try and paste your code and css here... though it is much better if we can see the page live and in action.... don't you have some server space you can upload the pages to?

    Nadia

  7. #7
    SitePoint Enthusiast K1975's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The code was from my home page but the page links to a style sheet.

    I am a beginner - so no I don't have any server space I can use, in fact I haven't even yet learnt how to upload pages to a server!

    Maybe I just won't worry about the format for IE, its not like I am planning to go live just yet anyway. It just seems bizarre that I followed the book exactly yet something has still gone astray.

    Thanks for trying to help.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •