GET and POST

Hi there,

I am really new to PHP and I was wondering where the difference between
    Code:
    $_GET['var']
    and
    Code:
    $_POST['var']
    is ... Can someone explain that to me, please?

dooby dooby doo silver trophybronze trophy
    Mentioned
    151 Post(s)
    Tagged
    3 Thread(s)
    $_POST vars are sent through a form in the background whereas $_GET are sent via the URL in the browser. $_POST and forms should be used where the information sent should be kept hidden eg: Login forms, registration forms etc

Have a look on here for more info
    Mike Swiffin - Community Team Advisor
    Only a woman can read between the lines of a one word answer.....

SitePoint Member therealfiredog69's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    When submitting a form with HTML you have the option to send it to your script via two methods. GET and POST.

GET:
    sending with the GET method will send your form data via the URL.

example:
    HTML Code:
    <form name="myForm" method="GET" action="./myphpscript.php">
         Enter your name: <input type="text" name="myname">
         <br /><br />
         <input type="submit" />
    </form>
    When the form sends, the URL will look like this:
    http://www.mydomain.com/myphpscript.php?myname=Steve

I really don't know how to explain this one, but all in all, it does not send the data via the URL.

There are different reasons why you would use one versus the other.

But, to answer your question:
    $_GET['myname'] will get the data from the myname element from the URL if you sent the form via the GET method.

$_POST['myname'] will get the data if you sent your form using the POST method.

Both of these I believe are depricated.

I like to use the $_REQUEST['myname']. This will get the data no matter which way you sent it.

Visit this link: http://us2.php.net/manual/en/languag...predefined.php

Hope this helps...

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged