SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Frustrated Newbie looking for Ruby literature

I have some programming experience, but not with OOP style languages. I have been looking through some of the online Ruby tutorials, but am getting extremely frustrated. They give cutsey examples that are very limited in their scope, and aren't good for much. For example, I want to create a Hash. I can see how to create a basic hash, but I want to know everything about a hash, such as how to add records, how to delete records, etc. I don't want a pre-populated hash, I want to build one on the fly. I haven't found anything that shows me this. The technical reference manuals are too technical, and the tutorials are too simple. Isn't there anything out there that just gives complete, simple information (including examples), of whatever part you want to learn about? Sorry, but I've been looking at it for a few days, and can't seem to be able to get anything to work right. It is very frustrating!

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jeryst