SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    SitePoint Zealot
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    197
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Problem formatting hard drive!

    OK, I hope someone can help me.

    I am trying to format my hard drive, but when I type the "format C: /s" command into DOS, i get a command not found error!

    WHY?
    Joel Moss
    ========================
    HomepageUniverse - Names, Tools & Hosting

  2. #2
    Happy Holidays !! Paul S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    1,287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Format is a DOS external command, ie, you need the file format.com
    Usually this file is in the Win 9X CD.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Addict SniperUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    367
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm not sure why you have the '/s' at the end?
    when I tryed it it gave an 'Invalid Parameter'

    any way just type 'format c:' it should work...

  4. #4
    Happy Holidays !! Paul S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    1,287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Luqman
    I'm not sure why you have the '/s' at the end?
    when I tryed it it gave an 'Invalid Parameter'

    any way just type 'format c:' it should work...
    If you use the parameter S, format copies the system files to the formatted disk (to make it bootable)

  5. #5
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    try fdisk for the format and then from type sys c: (I believe). Are you installing an OS on top of the drive? Usually they will format the hard drvie on installation and put it's own system files on. Then again, if you're not installing an OS, you can sytem format any drive not in use from Windows.

    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  6. #6
    Happy Holidays !! Paul S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    1,287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Sketch
    try fdisk for the format and then from type sys c: (I believe). Are you installing an OS on top of the drive? Usually they will format the hard drvie on installation and put it's own system files on. Then again, if you're not installing an OS, you can sytem format any drive not in use from Windows.

    Sketch
    Sketch, FDISK is a more risky command than format. It modifies the hard drive logical structure (ie add or delete HD partitions), use it with extremely care because you can lost all the information in your hard disk.

  7. #7
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes it is far more risky, but it's effective.

    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  8. #8
    Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Lancashire, UK
    Posts
    8,277
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use fdisk, never had any problems with it.

  9. #9
    Happy Holidays !! Paul S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Mexico
    Posts
    1,287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Both are partially right

    FDISK is unnecessary unless you want to modify your partitions, it will works but its not thanks to FDISK but Windows. After you use FDISK, the disk is not formatted. Only after you run the setup Windows program, Windows detects the disk and format it.

    Besides joelmoss said "i get a command not found error!", it sounds like the program file for format (format.com) is missing.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Evangelist tdevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did you try format C: /s without a space as in C:/s?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •