SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Firefox/IE Table issues


    http://paqmanweb.com/bnew/index.php?page=portfolio


    Scroll to the bottom in Firefox, then try it in IE. Any idea why this is happening? It isn't even a div, it's a table! Why would a table over write itself? Anyone know how to fix it? Thanks!

  2. #2
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Start by validating your HTML.

    And change that color scheme! It really hurts the eyes.

  3. #3
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It's all validated HTML (w3 passed). Still the spacing issue. Anyone have any ideas?

    Everyone's been telling me to tone down the green, so I guess I should listen

  4. #4
    SitePoint Evangelist Ed Seedhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Victoria, B.C. Canada
    Posts
    592
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by paqman
    It's all validated HTML (w3 passed). Still the spacing issue. Anyone have any ideas?
    As of now it still has many html errors, a number of which can be expected to cause presentation problems, such as the multiple use of IDs. CSS is predicated on valid html and you can't expect it to work in any particular way on invalid html.

    Also there's no reason or need to use tables for that layout. It is not tabular data.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Wizard gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy dc dalton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Right behind you, watching, always watching.
    Posts
    5,431
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Man you HAVE to change that green!!

    As mentioned before LOTS fo validation errors which are presentational and will cause a mess:
    # Error Line 82 column 11: ID "TEXTBOX" already defined.

    <table id="textbox">

    An "id" is a unique identifier. Each time this attribute is used in a document it must have a different value. If you are using this attribute as a hook for style sheets it may be more appropriate to use classes (which group elements) than id (which are used to identify exactly one element).


    # Info Line 75 column 11: ID "TEXTBOX" first defined here.

    <table id="textbox">



    # Error Line 89 column 11: ID "TEXTBOX" already defined.

    <table id="textbox">

    An "id" is a unique identifier. Each time this attribute is used in a document it must have a different value. If you are using this attribute as a hook for style sheets it may be more appropriate to use classes (which group elements) than id (which are used to identify exactly one element).


    # Info Line 75 column 11: ID "TEXTBOX" first defined here.

    <table id="textbox">


    # Error Line 96 column 11: ID "TEXTBOX" already defined.

    <table id="textbox">

    An "id" is a unique identifier. Each time this attribute is used in a document it must have a different value. If you are using this attribute as a hook for style sheets it may be more appropriate to use classes (which group elements) than id (which are used to identify exactly one element).


    # Info Line 75 column 11: ID "TEXTBOX" first defined here.

    <table id="textbox">


    # Error Line 103 column 11: ID "TEXTBOX" already defined.

    <table id="textbox">

    An "id" is a unique identifier. Each time this attribute is used in a document it must have a different value. If you are using this attribute as a hook for style sheets it may be more appropriate to use classes (which group elements) than id (which are used to identify exactly one element).


    # Info Line 75 column 11: ID "TEXTBOX" first defined here.

    <table id="textbox">


    # Error Line 110 column 11: ID "TEXTBOX" already defined.

    <table id="textbox">

    An "id" is a unique identifier. Each time this attribute is used in a document it must have a different value. If you are using this attribute as a hook for style sheets it may be more appropriate to use classes (which group elements) than id (which are used to identify exactly one element).


    # Info Line 75 column 11: ID "TEXTBOX" first defined here.

    <table id="textbox">


    # Error Line 116 column 11: ID "TEXTBOX" already defined.

    <table id="textbox">

    An "id" is a unique identifier. Each time this attribute is used in a document it must have a different value. If you are using this attribute as a hook for style sheets it may be more appropriate to use classes (which group elements) than id (which are used to identify exactly one element).


    # Info Line 75 column 11: ID "TEXTBOX" first defined here.

    <table id="textbox">
    You are using an ID like a class! You can only use and ID ONCE per page!

  6. #6
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    okay, i changed it all, but that isn't the problem here. It's still to do with the tables.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay, it seems that Firefox makes the appropriate room for each paragraph, while IE does not.
    Compare:
    http://paqmanweb.com/bnew/index.php?page=faq
    with
    http://paqmanweb.com/bnew/index.php?page=test

    The extra <p>'s cause the text to come through even worse in the second page. Any ideas?

  8. #8
    SitePoint Evangelist Ed Seedhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Victoria, B.C. Canada
    Posts
    592
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by paqman
    The extra <p>'s cause the text to come through even worse in the second page. Any ideas?
    Sure. Stop using tables for layout.


    Ed Seedhouse

  9. #9
    SitePoint Zealot photoshop250's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    108
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    If you use CSS you can create an absolute layout so that the page dimensions will remain the same regardless of the text.
    Discover Hidden Photoshop Secrets


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •