Thread: Cpm?

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Cpm?

What is cpm please, i am a newbie don't eat me

Hey also how do I find out how I many unigue and impressions ans whatever else there is?

And also could some one please explain what factors play into adverting?

Basicly i am totaly new to the aspect of advertising?

If there is already a thread covering this, sorri, just redirect me, if not please help me

thanks!
    Last edited by PsychDrone; Dec 2, 2001 at 22:00.

Serial Publisher silver trophy aspen's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    M is the roman numeral for 1000

CPM is Cost per thousand impressions

So $1 CPM means you get $1 per 1000 impressions.

An impression in a page view. What a human sees when they view your site.

A unique is usually a page view by a unique ip address in a 24 hour period. It could also be cookie controlled if people share ip addresses - but really its just a measure of how many unique people are visiting your site.

A hit is an HTTP request. Every image, page, embedded movie, etc causes an HTTP request to your server. When analyzing your server logs people often see a lot of hits and think they're getting a bunch of traffic. This is misleading as one page view (impression) can result in 10 hits.

To get your impressions/uniques you need a stat program.

These come in 3 flavors

1. Log Analyzers. These analyze the logs already on your server. Their are good and bad things about these. The good is that their easy, the bad is that they can be confusing and that they can only analyze whats in your logs.