SitePoint Enthusiast Joshimitsu's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Thumbs up entertainment site

I opened this site a few hours ago:

www.back-flip.com

I need suggestions on whats good/whats not. Its a fun media/entertainment site.

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I think it looks good. Easy to use.

SitePoint Enthusiast pickledshark's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Initial impressions are good, although trying to focus on content on the homepage is difficult - there is nothing to differentiate what is in the different yellow boxes. Maybe use a colour scheme for each content area (e.g. forum, news, media) and follow that through onto the respective pages.

I think that the homepage would benefit from some imagery - how about thumbnails of the pictures, videos, image for news item etc.

Your logo images looks a little ragged (e.g. around the n on everything) - I am not good with graphics but I would recommend touching up that image or redoing.

The bottom of the site is quite abrupt (on Firefox 1.5.0.6) - e.g. where the Advertise and Contact Us links are. It would benefit from padding out underneath these links.

The rollover for the "tabbed" (?) links at the top looks a little sharp with the colour contrast - how about a gradient?

Browsing through the site and it looks quite good, although it has that "unifinished" feel to certain elements. I would have expected to see thumbnails or some other imagery on the pictures, animations etc. sections.

Overall a great start, but please keep working on the the little things!

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok thanks, i will definately look into getting thumbnails done!

Non-Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)