SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    if ($zee == "Guru") { $zee--;}
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Karachi - Pakistan
    Posts
    1,134
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Highlight Effect when Selected

    HI

    Please visit the folllowing site for understanding.

    http://www.google.com/maps?num=100&h...local&ct=title

    u can see on the left is the list of PIZZA stors. Once u select a PIZZA store, its map is shown at the right. ON THE LEFT SIDE THAT PARTICULAR PIZZA STORE IS HIGHLIGHTED WITH LIGHT GRAY COLOR. AND WEHN U SELECT ANOTHER STORE, THEN THIS WIL BECOME NORMAL AND THE NEW SELECTED ONE WILL BE HIGHLIGHTED.

    PLease help with this.

    THanks

  2. #2
    I ♥ PHP
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi zeeshanhashmi, this seems like a reltively straight forward effect to achieve. What part exactly are you having trouble with? Do you have somewhere you would like to implement this in your own site? Can you post an example of where you want it applied and I'll take a look for you.

    Kind regards,
    Jordan

  3. #3
    I ♥ PHP
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have created an example for you zeeshanhashmi, if you have a look through the code you will see this was easily created. you could take this further and add all of the elements in to an Array and loop through them, but I figured this would give the most easy to understand example.

    http://sandbox.windebank.com.au/HighlightSelected

    If you have any queries please do not hesitate to ask.

    Kind regards,
    Jordan

  4. #4
    if ($zee == "Guru") { $zee--;}
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Karachi - Pakistan
    Posts
    1,134
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    yes yes this is what i m looking for. Please guide me how can i do that ?


    thanks

  5. #5
    I ♥ PHP
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    579
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi zeeshanhashmi, if you look at the code in my example page you will see it is an extremely simple effect. If you can post a link to the page you want this applied to, or some code for me to work with, I'll see what I can do.

    Regards,
    Jordan

  6. #6
    if ($zee == "Guru") { $zee--;}
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Karachi - Pakistan
    Posts
    1,134
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    thanks for your kindness.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm having a quite similar problem and J Windebank's example has helped me a lot already but if someone could take it even further and tell how to make that array thing to work as I'm trying to highlight a selected thumbnail in a gallery (many galleries with varying number of images).

    I'm using this simple gallery script (live example in the bottom of the page):
    http://alistapart.com/articles/imagegallery

    How would I add that "highlight current" to that script or use a separate one along with it? If it's possible for the flexibility I'd like to change the css class of the selected element.

    Or would this be a totally backwards thing to do?

    Sorry, a complete javascript newbie here.

    Thanks a lot!


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •