SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 21 of 21
  1. #1
    SitePoint Guru redhillccwebmas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    989
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Whats your resolution?

    Hi there,

    Just received my new monitor, a 1600x1000px res, and am really pleased with it. I don't mean to boast or anything but is that the largest resolution you can get for a 20" widescreen or can you get bigger? Or in general, whats the largest resolution monitor you have owned?
    Just interested

    Cheers

    James

  2. #2
    SitePoint Wizard Young Twig's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Albany, New York
    Posts
    1,355
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I run 1280x960.

  3. #3
    Pragmatic Programmer halfasleeps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Altoona, PA. USA
    Posts
    1,945
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    mine is 1280X1024 but ive seen a wide screen laptop that was 1900 wide and i dont remeber the height but it was really nice.
    Altoona Design
    Freelance Flex developer for hire.
    ActionScript Programmer with 8 Years Experience.

  4. #4
    Designer/Developer FarooqAzam's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    217
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use 1280x800 for notebook and 1280x1024 for Flatscreen i use double monitor!S

  5. #5
    SitePoint Zealot keith5885's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    at my computer
    Posts
    143
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    gotta go ATLEAST 1600 by 1200

    I want more though... maybe double 1600 1200 screens
    Thanks Sitepoint!

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard trampt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Newport, RI
    Posts
    1,997
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1920 X 1200 on 23" cinema display ... but will be upgrading next month to 2560 x 1600 on the 30" cinema display because of the price drop.

  7. #7
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy mizwizzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,322
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    good old 800 x 600 here

  8. #8
    Pragmatic Programmer halfasleeps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Altoona, PA. USA
    Posts
    1,945
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mizwizzy
    good old 800 x 600 here
    wow so your the reason i still have to develop for you.
    Altoona Design
    Freelance Flex developer for hire.
    ActionScript Programmer with 8 Years Experience.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard silver trophybronze trophy mizwizzy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    1,322
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    lol yeah....im SO not changing ever!!!!!

  10. #10
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    12,158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    212801024 at the office (dual 19" TFTs).
    12801024 at home (17" TFT).
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,021
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I use 1680 x 1050.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I run 5120 x 4096 spanning across 4 monitors 4x 1280 x 1024).

    I also have another set-up running 2880 x 2224 (1600 x 1200 and 1280 x 1024).

    I can never get enough screen resolution.

  13. #13
    SitePoint Guru redhillccwebmas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    989
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    adpd, that set-up sounds lurvely. Its amazing how an increase in screen resolution makes such a difference - the only downside I feel is that liquid layouts look terrible now! One line of text spanning the whole screen - horrible!

  14. #14
    ☆★☆★ silver trophy vgarcia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    in transition
    Posts
    21,235
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    1280x800 (13" macbook)

    1400x1050 (CRT for my work PC)

    I actually prefer 1280

  15. #15
    SitePoint Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    only 1 1024x768, boosting it to 1280x1024 in some cases, but don't really enjoy it, cuz it's an old mon, with low Hz.

  16. #16
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    61
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    redhillccwebmas, I only have my browser set at 1280 x 1024. Even fluid layouts look good then.

    It definately helps me be productive, especially testing sites when you can have 4 browsers open at 1280 x 1024 at the same time!

  17. #17
    ALT.NET - because we need it silver trophybronze trophy dhtmlgod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    4,836
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    3x 1280x1024 (2x 19" TFT, 1x 21" CRT)

  18. #18
    Ribbit... Eric.Coleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    In your basement
    Posts
    1,268
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    1440 x 900 on my macbook pro.

    I've been debating grabbing a cinema display... the 23" dropped to 1k, but I can still get the dell 24" for roughly $720

    Regards,
    Eric
    Eric Coleman
    We're consentratin' on fallin' apart
    We were contenders, now throwin' the fight
    I just wanna believe, I just wanna believe in us

  19. #19
    Level 8 Chinese guy Archbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Somewhere in this vast universe
    Posts
    3,741
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'm a firm fan of 1024*768 , don't see the point of getting more.

  20. #20
    ✯✯✯ silver trophybronze trophy php_daemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5,284
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yes, 1024x768 all the way. What are you people feel claustrophobic or what?
    Saul

  21. #21
    SitePoint Wizard aaron.martone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Posts
    2,322
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by adpd
    I run 5120 x 4096 spanning across 4 monitors 4x 1280 x 1024).

    I also have another set-up running 2880 x 2224 (1600 x 1200 and 1280 x 1024).

    I can never get enough screen resolution.
    Huh? 5120x4096?

    Isn't that a grid of 4x4 (16) monitors, each running 1280x1024? Or do you mean 5120x1024?


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •