SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    CSS "Pop Up" problem

    Hi all,

    I am using css to "pop-up" a window when a user clicks a link.

    It renders great in Firefox, Opera and Netscape, but as usual I am having problems with IE!!!

    Basically, my window has a header followed by a couple of paragraphs, then two floating elements. In IE, the paragraphs are not displayed for some reason until i move my mouse over the words!

    I can also use the navigation that sits on the page below!!!

    I really need to inactivate the page below if that is possible, or is there a better solution to this?

    My code is as follows:

    CSS:

    #map
    {
    position:absolute;
    top:10px;
    margin:0 auto;
    width:1000px;
    visibility: hidden;
    height:600px;
    z-index:99;
    }

    #mapcontainer
    {
    padding:10px;
    margin:0px;
    }
    #mapheader
    {
    height:80px;
    margin:0;
    padding:0;
    padding-bottom:5px;
    border-bottom:1px solid #EEE;
    margin-bottom:15px;
    }
    #mapheaderleft
    {
    float:left;
    width:60%;
    }
    #mapheaderright
    {
    float:right;
    text-align:right;
    width:30%;
    font-size:0.7em;
    }
    #mapcontainer h3
    {
    color:#FFF;
    margin-bottom:15px;
    }
    #mapcontainer p
    {
    color:#FFF;
    font-size:0.7em;
    margin-bottom:10px;

    }
    #maplinksbox
    {
    width:100px;
    float:left;
    border:1px solid #FFF;
    }
    #mapgooglemap
    {
    float:left;
    margin-left:10px;
    border:1px solid #FFF;
    }

    .mapsub
    {
    margin:0px;
    padding:0px;
    }
    and I use Javascript to show and hide the element "map".

  2. #2
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    could you please provide a link to a test page?

  3. #3
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi Dan,

    If you take a look at:http://194.79.28.155/guide.aspx?gen=1&loc=2 you will see a couple of problems.

    In IE 6.0, the drop down list on the right shows inside this DIV, whilst in IE 7, the page copy does not appear?

    Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

    Andy

  4. #4
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Great Ghu! I've never seen so many validation errors on a single page before! 340 ???

    I'd validate the markup first, then once the markup has been validated, check your stylesheet for valid code there as well. Once you've done that, I'll be able to help you.

  5. #5
    SitePoint Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    50
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hi dan,

    Thanks for the prompt!

    I have managed to get it down to one error and I am working on that and the other pages at the moment.

    To be honest, I was going to validate everything at the end, but after this little exercise I think I would have been better off validating as I go! Anyway, it has also showed how many bugs Visual Studio puts in the code that you don't notice!

    Anyway, I still have that problem with the dropdownlist appearing in IE! Any ideas?

    Andy

  6. #6
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It doesn't appear to be related to the XHTML or CSS as far as I can tell. But then again, I am pretty tired (was up all night coding two differenet personal sites).

    However, i am noticing a lot of JavaScript errors. It's really driving my JavaScript debugger bonkers.

    I strongly suggest you ask someone on the JavaScript board. They'll be able to help you better than I can at this point (especially since it appears you're using AJAX).


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •