SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Hybrid View

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question Number ONLY regular expression..

I have a javascript function that I use to validate a Number Only field.

I am not good with RegEx yet..

I have a problem where the field allows 20+ to be entered and it crashes the Number only datatype on submit.

How do I change it so the + symbol is removed? Also any character other than a digit? Cause they will enter 24k too for example, or 5mil

Existing function:

function numOnly(fld) {
    fld.style.backgroundColor="white";
    var reNum = /(^-?\d\d*$)/ig; // only digits allowed -- no text please
    var val = parseFloat(fld.value.replace(/[\s\,\\+\$]/g, "")); // remove spaces, commas and dollar signs
    if (!reNum.test(val)) {
    // alert("The value " + fld.value + " is not a valid number or currency for " + fld.name +".");
    fld.style.backgroundColor="#F60";
    fld.focus();
    var popHelp = window.open("/SBDX/Scripts/popHelp.asp?ID=" + fld.name + "&err=validation", "popErr", "resizable=1,height=300,width=400")
    popHelp.focus();
    val = null;
    }
    return val;
    }

Help very appreciated.

SitePoint Enthusiast nickweavers's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My regexp skills are a little rusty but I think you can do the following...

The following pattern will match if the string being tested against it contains only digits:

var reNum = /^\d+$/ig; // only digits allowed