SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

View Poll Results: Are you working with Rails full-time?

Voters
22. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, I'm a full time Rails developer, and I love it!

5 22.73%
  • I use Rails a lot at work but I/we still use PHP/Java/etc

5 22.73%
  • I don't work with Rails at work, but I'd love to

12 54.55%
    SitePoint Guru silver trophy Luke Redpath's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Working with Rails full time

Time for a poll

Who here works with Rails full-time? Is developing Rails apps your full-time job? Would you like it to be? Are you stuck in a rut at your current job but having a hard time finding a Rails job?

If you are using Rails at work, how long did it take you to transition from what you were using before. If you aren't using it, why not? Would you leave your current job for a full-time Rails job?

The Mind's I ® silver trophy Dark Tranquility's Avatar
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just use RoR for testing and tweaking only! more to come for me in the future!

SitePoint Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My work consists of CSS, JavaScript, PHP, Rails, and XHTML. I'm 18 with very few expenses (Take out, a few subscriptions, random items of amusement.) so I can get by on minimal freelance work. With that said all medium to large projects are Rails based, I won't touch PHP unless it's a small project or the client is hellbent on making it worth my time.

SitePoint Evangelist
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I discovered RoR at the beginning of the year and since finding it, it has become my environment of choice. Anything new at work is developed in RoR. I still have to support my old asp and php apps, but otherwise all RoR.

At home, I still use PHP because of the limitations of my ISP's website environment

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)