SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    SitePoint Wizard wdmny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    1,010
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Windows 2000: Saves Wrong DUN Password

    When I try to save my dialup passwords in Windows 2000, instead of saving the password I enter into the dialup box, it saves the administrator password. This would be fine but I don't have, and don't want, my administrator and dialup password as the same. Any way around this like a registry tweak or something?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Evangelist Umair.ms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Lahore, Pakistan
    Posts
    567
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    same here .. anyone has a solution?
    TinyPlanet.org
    Discuss and Debate World Events, Politics and Religion.
    Interact and Share your Views with People around the Globe.

  3. #3
    Making a better wheel silver trophy DR_LaRRY_PEpPeR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    3,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    my question to you guys is, how the heck do you KNOW it's saving your ADMINISTRATOR password? where can you SEE what the password is?
    - Matt ** Ignore old signature for now... **
    Dr.BB - Highly optimized to be 2-3x faster than the "Big 3."
    "Do not enclose numeric values in quotes -- that is very non-standard and will only work on MySQL." - MattR

  4. #4
    SitePoint Wizard wdmny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    1,010
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    By counting the *s in the password field. My dialup password is short and simple, my admin password is long.

  5. #5
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Win2k encyrpts the password, WinXP is the same

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  6. #6
    SitePoint Wizard
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Milton Keynes, UK
    Posts
    1,011
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    <edits>
    <edit>Ignore me. Listen to Sean</edit>
    <edit>Original post: I suggested that Win 2000 may pad *'s in the password field so as to not reveal the true length of the password</edit>
    </edits>
    Last edited by shane; Nov 24, 2001 at 16:59.

  7. #7
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It might be that it is padded rather than encrypted but it is the correct password

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  8. #8
    Making a better wheel silver trophy DR_LaRRY_PEpPeR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    3,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by seanf
    It might be that it is padded rather than encrypted but it is the correct password
    yes. if they would at least TRY it first, they'd probably see that it does, indeed, work.

  9. #9
    SitePoint Wizard wdmny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    1,010
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by DR_LaRRY_PEpPeR


    yes. if they would at least TRY it first, they'd probably see that it does, indeed, work.
    Ahhh.... Thank you, but why would I ever try that in the first place if it appears to be obviously wrong?

  10. #10
    Making a better wheel silver trophy DR_LaRRY_PEpPeR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    3,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Wes DeMoney
    Ahhh.... Thank you, but why would I ever try that in the first place if it appears to be obviously wrong?
    i know... but when i first saw that i was like WTH?! so i entered it again and when it was like that a second time, i figured i'd try connecting like that -- and, sure enough, it worked. then, i knew it was just a security measure.

    so, it's working all right? cool.

  11. #11
    SitePoint Wizard wdmny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    1,010
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yeah, I have been wondering why it was doing that for probably about a year now. I should have just tried it like you did.

  12. #12
    Making a better wheel silver trophy DR_LaRRY_PEpPeR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    3,428
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    were you retyping it manually each time for the past year?! i thought you had recently got 2000 or something and were wondering. well, after retyping it THAT much, i would've thought you definitely would've tried it!

  13. #13
    SitePoint Evangelist Umair.ms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Lahore, Pakistan
    Posts
    567
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I have retyping DUN password in Win2K since July, when I got w2k. I never bothered to give it a try.
    TinyPlanet.org
    Discuss and Debate World Events, Politics and Religion.
    Interact and Share your Views with People around the Globe.

  14. #14
    Mlle. Ledoyen silver trophy seanf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    7,168
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You must have nearly worn your keyboard out!

    Sean
    Harry Potter

    -- You lived inside my world so softly
    -- Protected only by the kindness of your nature

  15. #15
    SitePoint Wizard wdmny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    1,010
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I didn't really think it was that big of deal. It didn't really bother me having to type it, I was just curious to why it was doing that.

  16. #16
    SitePoint Zealot Grandmaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Location: Houlton, ME
    Posts
    148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Pure security. Like when you copy and paste a password into a password box, usually it copies wrong because it tried to pad it.
    Ken Prescott - 21Studios freelancing design
    Graphic-Forums - The Forums for the Graphic User

  17. #17
    SitePoint Addict kevin_tremblay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Boston Area (North shore)
    Posts
    233
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What seanf says when you type a password into anything it will not show exactly the length you use, it encrypts is and it always looks longer that it really is. So I would say when you are saving your password for your DUN it really is keeping the one you set.

    I have been a sys admin for 5 of my 10 years in IT and have never seen the system override the password with the admin one.
    Kevin Tremblay-- Sys Admin
    work: kevin_tremblay@hsgmed.com
    "The object of the journey is not to arrive."


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •