SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Discrephancies

  1. #1
    SitePoint Evangelist FCC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    417
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Discrephancies

    Hi all,

    WHen you guys go to this website:

    http://www.cfsc.org.hk/rehab/CMS/cmsadmin/login.php

    ANd when clicking on the input boxes, do they grow a black border around them? I've been testing them on a few computers and they don't (IE), but on my own computer it works Fine....I don't understand why? In fact a lot of stuff inside the CMS is turning out weird on other computers but mine....

    Anyone have a reasonable explanation for this?

  2. #2
    SitePoint Author silver trophybronze trophy

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ankh-Morpork
    Posts
    12,158
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The borders turn black for me (Opera 9.0/WinXP).
    Birnam wood is come to Dunsinane

  3. #3
    SitePoint Wizard bronze trophy Tyssen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Brisbane, QLD
    Posts
    4,067
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It looks like the path to csshover.htc is incorrect.

  4. #4
    SitePoint Evangelist FCC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    417
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ok well, I can't seem to get this to work correctly...

    My csshover.htc is in the same folder as the css file calling it.

    So in the css file I have:

    Code:
    body
    {
    behavior: url("csshover.htc");
    }
    Right?

  5. #5
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Try adding this to your .htaccess file. The proper MIME type has to be used for .htc files in order for MSIE to handle it. I'm going to assume you're using Apache Web Server.

    AddType text/x-component .htc

  6. #6
    SitePoint Evangelist FCC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    417
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ANy specific location? I am using apache. You know what the funny thing is? It worked fine a few days ago, but then I did some stuff and now it doens't work.

  7. #7
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I'd strongly suggest asking an expert on Apache Web Server. The advice I am about to give may cause a problem.

    Look for a .htaccess file in your root folder. Barring one, either create a new one and put that in there, or put a .htaccess file in the same folder as your .htc file.

    Be sure to check with your Web host (or even ask them to include that bit of code for you) first to make sure you're allowed to make such changes before trying anything.

  8. #8
    SitePoint Evangelist FCC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    417
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I just want to clarify:

    I should add another .htaccess file (contents can be anything) into the same folder as my current csshover.htc file?

  9. #9
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    As I said, I would ask someone who knows what they're doing with Apache before trying anything. Either that, or your Web hosting provider. I don't want to be responsible for mucking up the server your site is on.

  10. #10
    SitePoint Evangelist FCC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    417
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well it's only my company's server which has a craptastic IT department. But anyways, how would adding another htaccess file with no content even harm anything...

    Note; haven't tried it yet.

  11. #11
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if you have an .htaccess file in a directory (folder) and you upload a new one, it will over-write the existing one.

  12. #12
    SitePoint Evangelist FCC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    417
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Assuming it's the same name....right?

  13. #13
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    .htaccess IS the name of the file.

  14. #14
    SitePoint Evangelist FCC's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    417
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I am so I am very confused.

    I am not familiar with .htaccess files. So basically my file name will be:

    htaccess.htc and put this in the same folder as csshover.htc?

  15. #15
    In memoriam gold trophysilver trophybronze trophy Dan Schulz's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Aurora, Illinois
    Posts
    15,476
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    the file name will be .htaccess and will go in your root folder.

    Other .htaccess files can be created and put into other folders.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •