SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

SitePoint Member
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

subcontracting programmer

I am a seasoned web site designer and love designing ó I tried a bit of programming recently but it is not my cup of tea - so on a recent bid I am inlcuding a bid from a programmer to do the database , ecommerce, catalog, member log in /opt in etc part of the site project.

the programmer will also provide hosting for the site-

I will design the site and turn it over to him to add the datadse back end.

Two questions,

1. how do I calculate the mark up for managing the project?

and

2. how do I keep the programmer from running away with my client - as it were

I will have a separate contract with the programmerócan I include specific wording in the contract that protects me ?

Ceylan
    Ceylan

SitePoint Addict
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Ceylan
    I am a seasoned web site designer and love designing ó I tried a bit of programming recently but it is not my cup of tea - so on a recent bid I am inlcuding a bid from a programmer to do the database , ecommerce, catalog, member log in /opt in etc part of the site project.

the programmer will also provide hosting for the site-

I will design the site and turn it over to him to add the datadse back end.

Two questions,

and

I will have a separate contract with the programmerócan I include specific wording in the contract that protects me ?

Ceylan

Hi,

1: Either you put a mark up on each hour by guessing how much project management it will involve on your side. Or you charge the actual hours spent on project managing and integrating it.

2: I see two problems here: Why do you work with a programmer that would do that, they basically destroy your relationship with you. Why do you work with a customer that would do that, they basically destroy your relationship with you as well.