SitePoint Sponsor

User Tag List

Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Windows Registry

    Okay.... i'm having a little problem

    My computer keeps starting and giving me the 'windows encountered an error accessing the registary

    windows will now restart an repair, etc, etc...

    only problem is, it restarts and the same message just comes up again... anyway i tried scanreg /restore and a whole bunch of other stuff and still am stumpted!

    Can some one... anyone... at all help??? please!

  2. #2
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I already did... obviously you are too slow j/k

  3. #3
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Platinum-buddy...

    What version of Windows are you using? 98?

    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  4. #4
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    lol.. yep, sorry... hehe I'm not usualy the one asking for help win98

  5. #5
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Okay... I really killed my computer this time same problem though...

    So now I have reverted to using another old hunk a junk, I don't know how much longer I will be able to put up with this dingey little screen

    Right... so I have a quick question: why wount scanreg.exe respond to anything? actually is it possible that it might not even be there?

    I'm desperate now!

  6. #6
    What? Maelstrom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Whistler BC originally from Guelph Ontario
    Posts
    2,175
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    You might want to do a full install. When I was building and repairing I never bothered to try to fix any version of 98. Full install was generally faster. Or even pretend it is an upgrade (thats works sometimes).
    Maelstrom Personal - Apparition Visions
    Development - PhP || Mysql || Zend || Devshed
    Unix - FreeBSD || FreeBsdForums || Man Pages
    They made me a sitepoint Mentor - Feel free to PM me or Email me and I will see if I can help.

  7. #7
    + platinum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    6,441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Yah.. thanks, i'm just about gonna do that. But you see i'm getting a whole new computer in a couple of weeks, so i'd rather not waste time installing all of my programs that i need in the next couple of weeks, only to have to do it all again once I get win2000 on my new one... damm its a strange problem

  8. #8
    SitePoint Evangelist tdevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    441
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Why not just do a regular reinstall? That way you get your system back and lose no files

  9. #9
    SitePoint Addict kevin_tremblay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Boston Area (North shore)
    Posts
    233
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    if you are going to reinstall get off of win98 and get to at least win2k, most of your issues will go away.
    Kevin Tremblay-- Sys Admin
    work: kevin_tremblay@hsgmed.com
    "The object of the journey is not to arrive."

  10. #10
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Kevin...he is in a few weeks, if my understanding of his previous posts are accurate. But I agree that switching to Win2k (at least) will solve most if not all these problems.

    Sketch

    PS...actually Platinum, cheaper and better than Windows 2000 is Windows XP Home...unles you have a network you're connecting to, then it's not cheaper to get XP Pro, but still better.
    Last edited by Sketch; Nov 30, 2001 at 07:06.
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  11. #11
    SitePoint Addict kevin_tremblay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Boston Area (North shore)
    Posts
    233
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Actually I just bought XP Pro because of my home network and I am testing it on my laptop right now. Looks good and runs really well so far.

    If it is as stable as Win2k then we have another winner. Win2k has been running on my desktop and server for the last 2 yrs and have not had to rebuild either one yet.
    Kevin Tremblay-- Sys Admin
    work: kevin_tremblay@hsgmed.com
    "The object of the journey is not to arrive."

  12. #12
    Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Before These Crowded Streets
    Posts
    9,446
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    well, I've run XP Home for a month now and it is still smooth sailing. I did have to reinstall but that was my own fault for installing bad drivers despite being warned. I could have used System Restore but...anyways, it's a long story. Let's chalk it up to operator error...

    Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor



  13. #13
    We like music. weirdbeardmt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Channel Islands Girth: Footlong
    Posts
    5,882
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My mate had the very same problem as you describe Plat. So he took it home, and his brother "the computer whiz" formatted, and reinstalled. About two days later it's f.... er, ahem, knackered again.

    I think it is a Windows bug. But anywho he gave it to me, I flashed his bios, did a quick regclean, tidied up a few other bits, did a clean install ON TOP, and he hasn't had a problem since. Took me about 45 minutes maybe an hour tops.

    I guess it is just another nasty Win98 bug. God bless Win2k!!
    I swear to drunk I'm not God.
    Matt's debating is not a crime
    Hint: Don't buy a stupid dwarf Clicky


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •