User Tag List

Hybrid View

SitePoint Enthusiast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

tips for making a professional looking design

I have tried and tried and I can never make a deisgn that i like. I am making an online custom computer computer store and I want it to look professional but it never works out. I'm not a beginner at web page design but I only have made personal sites and I need a site that sells. Do you have any design tips for making a site look professional or any tips on designing this type of site?

Thanks

SitePoint Evangelist
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Well you said it's a custom computer store, so I wouldn't go mad with The Latest Effects from The Script Archives etc. Don't bother with overly complex graphics either. It's a shopping site, no need in this case.

Make it look nice and crisp. I don't have any tips because I don't consider myself too brilliant. I would say that you take time to do it. If you get it all done at once, you're doing something wrong.

Don't get too close, I bite! Nicky's Avatar
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Have a good surf round the web to get ideas, see what other people are doing. But the most important thing is to never give up, carry on working with your design, it doesn't come quick or easy but you will get there.

Prolific Blogger silver trophy Technosailor's Avatar
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Keep it clean. Light colors and such. I prefer light greys and blues. It doesn't have to be the most artsy looking site as you're not selling art. Find an existing site that you like and get some ideas to build from

Sketch
    Aaron Brazell
    Technosailor

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Originally posted by Sketch
    Find an existing site that you like and get some ideas to build from
    But, don't copy it, of course.